We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and memorable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Petworth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful and memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely first class in every way. Head chef Chris Naylor trained under Albert Roux and follows the master's philosophy of lettings the finest ingredients speak for themselves. The imaginative wine parings are in the same league. Mortgage your grandmother and eat here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A full-on taste and pleasure experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

An unbelievable dining experience! I can fully agree with most of the reviewers that this is one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam ... but beware certainly not cheap in fact the only misleading info was actually the TA 'price range' of €25-28 You'll need to double that for not very much.
We opted for the 7 course taster with accompanying wines, sommelier was entertainment in itself, wines selected were mostly very good if not sensational , and as you would expect very well suited for the varying subtleties between , for example, a prawn foam, then cod ensemble then seabass to name three plates. Desserts followed suit - with designer style plates loaded with taste bombs.
Our total bill for the Tasting menu with wines was €420 for two< Was it good value?? It was right at the top end of the tolerance scale .... only very slightly nudged over by the €9 for a cup of green tea for my somewhat inebriated wife (which they could have thrown in as they had orchestrated her condition!).... but that certainly wouldn't stop us going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful evening at this restaurant. The dining room was lovely, the food was outstanding and the service 5 star. We chose the tasting menu with wine pairings and couldn't have been more delighted.The Chef Christopher Naylor was so informative and cheerfully answered our questions about the menu. The Maitre d'hôtel Niek Beute was absolutely charming and very professional with a deep knowledge of wine and food . A memorable evening. I hope to have the chance to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very luxury restaurant and not very expensive at the same time. The food is gourmet style and the service is professional.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Some describe the decor of this restaurant as "simple" or "sober". I don't understand that. I think it is quite lush, with great lighting, paintings, a fireplace, flower arrangements. I really loved it. The stone floor did not cause noises. Take the restaurant entrance at left, not that of the hotel.
8 tables, set wide apart so you don't hear your neighbours very well. I had asked and got a table in the back corner. Had a special winter menu for a very good price, which is over now.
Various small starters (amuses), 4 courses of mainly vegetables, all very delicious and soft.
Great service. We sat there for 4 hours but never had to wait long. Took no wine arrangement but had a glass of 10 year old Madeira (about 10 euro a glass), as I love this wine and island, and nothing is too strange for them. Even the head chef came to our table.
No music and I love that as I need quietness which this restaurant gave superbly despite being full. With our tea came some small sweets which we could take home in a small box.
Everything was perfect and so this was my best restaurant experience.
I hope they get their second Michelin star back (now one). At about 25th place of best Dutch restaurants (of a culinary magazine).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.