We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food combinations in a lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), Amsterdam 1012, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $34 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect food combinations in a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Both for private as well as business occasions this is a fabulous restaurant. If you look beyond the endless restorations around the Central railway station you step into an oasis of peace and quiet. The staff is very helpful. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    91
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Atmosphere, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant was the highlight of our honeymoon - the food was beyond delicious, service was top notch, and the wine pairings were perfect. It was one of the most lovely dinner experiences my husband and I have ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giussano, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've chosen it based on the reviews and I was not disappointed, I can simply confirm what everyone wrote.
Good food, good service, nice people... A place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a fantastic restaurant! Definitely worthy of it's Michelin rating.

Service is absolutely brilliant. The staff are incredibly courteous, knowledgeable and helpful, and as others have mentioned, they manage it without the pretension or snootiness that I've experienced elsewhere in restaurants of this calibre. It's a small restaurant, with an intimate feel, but never feels crowded or loud. Perfect!

And of course, the food is excellent. We took the smaller of the tasting menus (with a cheese course added in) and wine pairings with each course. Stunning!

Highlight of the night... Being invited to sit at the chef's table in the kitchen for our main course (wild duck breast - delicious)!

It's certainly not the cheapest restaurant in town, but on par with others I've visited of this quality. I'll definitely be back again next time I'm in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having been to Amsterdam on numerous occasions, we had never eaten here. Our usual way to find somewhere to eat was to see what we stumbled across, not very successful. This time we tried trip advisor and we are so glad we did. The Vermeer, although a formal restaurant, was an excellent place to eat, feel relaxed and spoiled.We tried the medium taster menu with wine, all staff were attentive knowledgable and very pleasant. The food was excellent and the wine complemented each course. After three hours and feeling totally satisfied, we left for a brisk walk to our hotel. Go on treat yourself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.