We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Haesje Claes

Restaurant Haesje Claes
273-275 Spuistraat, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 624 9998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $33 - $53
Cuisines: Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We dined based on the recommendation of a family member who had eaten there before and it didn't disappoint. The interior was charming with different decor depending on which room you were seated in. The servers were all very friendly. Coming from a Dutch background I wanted to try the hotchpotch. The portion was huge and very well priced. We dined again later in the week so my husband could try the hotchpotch for himself and enjoyed our second visit just as much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    501
    102
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch Food & Atmosphere- w/ Excellent Gluten Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The restaurant has a very charming and warm ambiance- and food to match the atmosphere. The menu is primarily traditional Dutch fare, with lots of meat/fish paired with mashed potatoes. This means the meals are quite heavy and filling, but quite delicious!

The servers were all extremely friendly and spoke English very well. The place had a warm, yet casual atmosphere, as children and adults alike were dining there. All at a reasonable price. We also saw quite a few large parties being seated, so they seem very accommodating for large groups.

In terms of gluten free: Most of my family members are gluten free, so we specifically came here after researching that they had gluten free options. They have a whole designated gluten free menu, which is always a great sign. Many of the meals were composed of meat and potatoes anyway, but it was good to be assured that they were gluten free. They also serve a delicious gluten free roll to gf patrons at the beginning of the meal. For gf drinkers, they serve the gluten free Belgian beer, Mongozo, as well as Strongbow cider.

It was really wonderful to be understood as a gluten free patron in a foreign city. We were able to eat traditional Dutch food without worrying about being contaminated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Can you say, "Dover Sole?"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

For huge portions of Dover Sole and other delicious dishes, make a beeline for this quaint restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good experience at Haesje claes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Food was reasonably priced, interiors were great and the menu options were authentic and tasty. The local dutch beer here is highly recommended too

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch fare in old time surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel's concierge, we wanted traditional Dutch fare and we got it, the surroundings were European old style, menus in every language, good selection of beers, we ordered the herring with onions and pickles, old Amsterdam cheese cubes, pea soup with sausage and the Hotchpotch with meatball sausage and bacon which is a kind of purée of potatoes onions and carrots, with a meatball and sausages on top. It was surprisingly good. The food was good, the servings were generous and the service was fast. I recommend it as a first time visitor to Amsterdam

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Haesje Claes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Haesje Claes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Haesje Claes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.