We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Elandsgracht 29-31, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6209551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 2,507 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A bit noisy, but wow, what great food, wonderful service, and fun local crowd! Loved the fish dishes, and they made things nice and spicy for me and mild for my spouse. Servers could not have been more attentive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    57
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

When i come to Amsterdam, always do my best to have a nice dinner in this lovely restaurant. Last time came with good friends from Spain, and we all enjoyed. Really good the starters (i always have the fish cakes, but my friends asked the coconut soup with chicken). Then we shared duck (amazing) and chicken with red curry. Deserts really good too. Lovely ambient, funny decoration and excellent service. I really recomend the experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Service, Cosy and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

One of my go-to restaurants when my palate is craving for authentic thai spicy taste. Menu has options different from run-of-the-mill thai menus. Great service. I have always gone there without reservation and even though busy- have never minded waiting for sometime for a table.
In addition to the food I like the staff and the ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Visited on a busy Saturday night after making reservations.
Staff very efficient and friendly, good atmosphere.
Best Tom Yam soup I've had anywhere inc Asia, and top Masman curry.
Went as a group where everyone was very pleased with the experience.
Like the corny Tie's inset under the glass table cover and the original wall art.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Have the Salmon, Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

While in Amsterdam, when there is a zillion places to dine, we chose to eat at Rakang two times during our stay. Service is excellent, chardonnay good, dinner just awesome. Everything about this place is so good, makes for return visits everytime we are in Amsterdam. Hot tea service is cool.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rakang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.