We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous good in relaxed setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rakang

Rakang
Elandsgracht 29-31, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6209551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 2,544 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous good in relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved this restaurant close to the city of Amsterdam. From what I am told this restaurant have been under the management of the same owners since more than 10 years. Lovely Thai homemade food as starters and main dishes. We tried various dishes and all are good. Good is a little pricy but well worth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thaï in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I discovered Rakang Thaï 4 years ago and I go to that restaurant each time I am in Amsterdam! I am sure to have a wonderful dinner! It's clearly of the best Thai I know! Food is just amazing, you can taste and smell all the flavours of Asia! The choice of dishes is huge and you can choose the level of spiciness for all them. This is simply delicious! If you like Thai restaurant, you will for sure be amazed by Rakang Thai!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Jam packed on a Saturday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were directed to this gem by our chum's hotel. There was only one table left and we were glad to have it. The restaurant is small and it was busy but as usual asian establishments do a very efficient job of excellent service. All our shared dishes were delicious as well as well chilled wine. Would definitely be back next time in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
234 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Evening meal for 2 after a canal boat trip with lots of wine. Chicken Sate starters. Neua Pad Prik King and Gebakken Noodles. Khiew Wan Gong. 6 x Singha beers. All delicious. Busy place with a good buzz. 90EU.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this place a lot, the food was just as it should be. A great thai place and you can order how THAI you really want it. ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rakang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rakang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.