We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini Bomboni

Puccini Bomboni
Staalstraat 17 | Oudekerksplein 17, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-6265472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Popped in here for a snack as it was raining. The cakes were lovely. A good selection. I wasn't happy with my smoothie as there was too much yogurt in it, this is a personal choice. The lemon tart was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    62
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really Great Food, Poor Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited Puccini for a late breakfast based on its mention in Frommers. It's a great location in short walking distance to Rembrandt Huis. I should mention that there are two separate (and I was told unaffiliated) shops here named Puccini - the Chocolatier, and the Café. I went to both.
The Chocolatier - simply a magical little place. They create art with chocolate, and these chocolates are delicious! The Chocolatier gets 5 stars from me!
The Café - some of the best coffee I've ever had, and the food was fresh and excellent, however, the service was not. I could have cut them some slack, given that one of the servers was also the one preparing the food. However, the restaurant was nearly empty, and the servers were reading the paper and eating food they prepared for themselves while I waited and waited for service. I'd go back because the food was so good, but I'd be more assertive about my expectations of them next time. The service at the Café is the only thing bringing my score of this place to 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our lunch at Puccini and was definately the best lunch of our 3 days in Amsterdam. I had veggie ciabatta and my husband had chicken version and we both thought they were excellent quality and bursting with flavour. Puccini is not cheap but then Amsterdam overall is pretty expensive and feel at least here you are getting a really excellent sandwich for your money, I would recommend to others.
We also tried a couple of the chocolates from their shop next door and thought these were very good also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection but the assistant did not wear gloves when handling the chocolates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I discovered this chocolate shop on a previous trip to Amsterdam , and loved the selection of chocolates with interesting float ours like lemon grass , pepper and tea to name but a few. I went to the smaller of their stores on my current to visit to Amsterdam to get my chocolate fix. I was not disappointed. The shop was very busy and there was only one shop assistant so you had to wait a while to get served. The one thing that put me off was that the assistant did not put on a glove while handling the chocolates. This was a bit off-putting as she also handled the change out of the cash register. The chocolates however did not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“UNREAL!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best chocolate in Amsterdam, completely worthy of being compared to anything Begian! AMAZING artisan chocolate- yup price- but worth the taste!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini Bomboni also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Puccini Bomboni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini Bomboni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.