We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta e Basta

Pasta e Basta
Nieuwe Spiegelstraat 8, 1017DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 422 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 2,471 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $109
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Pasta e Basta restaurant nearly opposite the Rijksmuseum has a name that simply doesn’t do it justice. It means ‘pasta full stop’ but really should trumpet the singing accomplishments and mad party atmosphere that the waiters and waitresses deliver. The dining room is splendid, with scarlet-covered chairs, flouncy wall sconces, dramatic drapes and fine art, while the bar area is more modern but just as operatic. The wait staff really truly can sing, everything from Billy Joel to grand opera, and they get the joint jumping. The long tables attract hens and big groups and the small cosy niches and bar are right for more intimate numbers, and it is just one fantastic evening. The menu is Italian, incorporating excellently-sourced meat, fish and veg. Anti pasti are served buffet-style from a chilled grand piano. Main courses always include eight pasta dishes like spaghetti with squid ragout, lasagne bolognaise with tapenade and sage, and penne with radicchio and goats cheese. International wine list matches the international musical programme. Groups are so welcome, and the entire venue seats 110.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a very enjoyable experience at this restaurant. The food was superb .Amazing antipasta followed by your choice of a pasta dish. It was recommended 3 dishes for 4 people, which surprised us as the meal was quite pricey,but it was certainly sufficient. The waiters and waitresses burst into song every now and them which was just wonderful. They all had great voices. While the food , singing and atmosphere were fantastic, we felt we weren't given a lot of attention by the staff. The restaurant was very full, but we waited - long time for meals, drinks etc and we stood at the door for a good few minutes when we first arrived. Probably not the best place if you want to sit and have a catch up with friends as it was quite noisy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    128
    47
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A treat for all the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We discovered this restaurant by chance a few years ago and this was our third visit. It's special attraction is the live singing of opera, jazz, blues and popular melodies (not pop) by waiting on staff during the course of your evening. And very good they are too. On a previous visit, we learned that one was a member of the Netherlands National Opera. Food is Italian style and the starters (as much as you can eat) are laid out in the body of a grand piano. They pride themselves on using only fresh ingredients, no additives and top quality meat and seafood (to WWF standards according to their website)....all I know is that it tastes superb. I had a risotto with black tiger shrimps and my partner, a pasta dish with clams. Just writing about it makes my mouth water. HIghly recommended for a fuliflling night out in more ways than one...this is a treat for eyes, ears and stomach!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“notable place to have a good dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place provides a good choice of italian good.
Very interesting decor.
Don't be surprised by live opera music along with standards - it is entertainment in
good not annoying form.
I think this place is good not just for a casual dinner but for spending quite an enjoyable time
while talking to your friends/family.
That was a good finding in Amsterdam

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is brilliant. The food was absolutely delicious, with the antipasta housed in a grand piano. During the meal we were treated to waitresses singing arias with the most perfect voices. A treat not to be missed

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great fun and hugely talented staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been here three time now and every time is different and great fun. If you love simple Italian food, beautifully prepared, with good, friendly service, good wine and great live music from classical, to jazz standards, to modern, this is the one for you. I cannot recommend it highly enough for fun with friends, a light informal business dinner (my first experience) or a romantic evening (I loved it so much I brought my wife here from London for our anniversary).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta e Basta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pasta e Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta e Basta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.