We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite food and wine, second row service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and wine, second row service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For a special occasion we decided to splurge and head for a Michelin-starred restaurant.
Tried well in advance to get one of the coveted window tables but ended up in second row.

We had the 5-course Rive Gauche menu with matching wines. Food and wine was excellent, a culinary adventure that exceeded our high expectations.

At our table, the polite staff was delivering the standard routine, merely going through the motions. Serving suddenly took a long, unexplained pause. No one ever asked us how we were doing. The front row tables, by contrast, got excellent attention.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at La Rive, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your most honest review which we appreciate. We are definitely going to take this matter into account and we ensure you that we will do our very best to satisfy your demands in the future. In some cases, we won’t be able to give you the table you asked for, if we had a lot of bookings in advance by example, but when it’s possible, we’ll do everything we can to comply your request. On the other hand, we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the 5-course Rive Gauche menu with the matching wines and we will pass this through to the kitchen and our renowned chef Roger Rassin. Concerning the staff, we will inform them of your review and remind them that every guest deserves the same personal service. We hope to see you again in the future at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos, Ronald Opten
General Manager, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One michelin star, but more than worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'm not a very active restaurant reviewer, but this I just had to share. After hearing good feedback the price made me hesitate. Now I'm doomed and have to come back for more.
The ambiance is classic and pleasant and the staff was polite and friendly.

The tasting menu was absolutely great and we enjoyed some *fine* wines.
It's an ART to make both 'normal' and special ingredients all taste fantastic.

Overall this was a very good experience and I'll be back for sure.
Will also try the Brasserie (also in the Amstel Hotel)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at La Rive, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your extremely positive review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in the La Rive restaurant. We’re glad that we’ve lived up to all of your expectations and that you had a wonderful experience thanks to our amazing restaurant team. Our chef Roger Rassin is responsible for the culinary works of art and of harmonising the exquisite and the extraordinary ingredients and we’re convinced that he will be very pleased to read your reactions. We will share your review with our entire team and together with them and we are definitely looking forward to welcome you again in the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam in order to satisfy all your culinary desires with yet another culinary journey.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos, Ronald Opten
General Manager, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and very good wine list ,the service was very good quiet atmosphere to enjoy you're meal ....impressive with so many good wines ....my opinion is that this restourands is for ...2stars Michelin

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at La Rive, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this excellent comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in the restaurant La Rive and that you appreciated our wide range of top wines chosen and advised by our team of well-experienced sommeliers. We will share your review with our entire team and together with them we are looking forward to welcome you again in our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos, Ronald Opten
General Manager, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fantastic (thought provoking) meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Having been fortunate enough to have eaten in some wonderful restaurants around the world, I was really looking forward to visiting La Rive, especially after reading some of the other reviews. The purpose of our visit was to celebrate my husbands birthday so I was really hoping that the experience would live up to my expectations and I wasn't disappointed. We had the tasting menu with wine, and had the caviar as an optional extra, whilst it is a little on the pricey side, the food and overall ambiance were excellent and well worth the money.

The "amuse bouche" were fantastic. One looked like a mini white chocolate magnum but was in fact a liver mousse and the other was a gingerbread biscuit filled with hare, your eyes and brain were saying one thing and your tastebuds something completely different....hence my thought provoking comments in the title. The wines were perfectly matched to each course and the service attentive and friendly without being intrusive.

A wonderful evening and a place I would have no hesitation in recommending to others and visiting again should I find myself in Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at La Rive, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in the restaurant La Rive and trust upon the fact that your husband enjoyed celebrating his birthday at La Rive. We’re glad that we’ve lived up to all of your expectations and that you had a wonderful experience thanks to our attentive restaurant team and sommeliers. Our chef Roger Rassin is responsible for the culinary works of art and we’re convinced that he will be very pleased to read your reactions. We will share your review with our entire team and together with them we are looking forward to welcome you again in our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos, Ronald Opten
General Manager, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After having a 5 course lunch at Bord'eau restaurant we settled late evening for La Rive. The six course menue, one for my wife, another for me, pleased us both. But I can understand that La Rive have one star in Michelin and Bord'eau have gotten the second star in November 2013. But la Rive is absolute worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.