We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After having a 5 course lunch at Bord'eau restaurant we settled late evening for La Rive. The six course menue, one for my wife, another for me, pleased us both. But I can understand that La Rive have one star in Michelin and Bord'eau have gotten the second star in November 2013. But la Rive is absolute worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    139
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place is really particular at all. The food, the ambiance and this is very nice place at all. We recently been there with friends and we have a great time. Any more words are enough then one word - excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is top notch. The setting, the food, the staff....totally faultless. My wife and i chose the Rive Gauche menu with wine at 115? + 85? each and worth every single penny/cent. We have been blessed to eat at some of THE very best retaurants (no name dropping)and this is as good as any without doubt. What made it especially memorabke was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Every single one of them seemed genuinely happy to be at work and to serve with a smile. Although an extra special mention should go to the somellier who was withoubt doubt our best ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I ended up eating here on a recent business trip. My meetings the first day were nearby the restaurant and ran late, so a couple of us went there for a late supper. Even though near closing, they made us very welcome. The service was completely great in every way, and the food was delicious. The restaurant is very attractive and in a handy location. I will come back here happily when I am next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service & ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to La Rive last night and from the start to the finish couldn't fault the food, accompanying wine choices or the service.

Super attentive, fun and engaging staff. Food was delightful, tasty and a great choice of in season ingredients

Recommended if you want a intimate evening or even something more lively. It's not the cheapest restaurant but then Michelin food doesn't come cheap! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.