We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I ended up eating here on a recent business trip. My meetings the first day were nearby the restaurant and ran late, so a couple of us went there for a late supper. Even though near closing, they made us very welcome. The service was completely great in every way, and the food was delicious. The restaurant is very attractive and in a handy location. I will come back here happily when I am next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service & ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to La Rive last night and from the start to the finish couldn't fault the food, accompanying wine choices or the service.

Super attentive, fun and engaging staff. Food was delightful, tasty and a great choice of in season ingredients

Recommended if you want a intimate evening or even something more lively. It's not the cheapest restaurant but then Michelin food doesn't come cheap! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“All expectations met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Looking for a good quality restaurant for a special visitor and decided to use La Rive. This was an excellent choice! On entering the building it's design and architecture is first class and provides a wonderful introduction to the forthcoming meal.
Entering the restaurant, the view of the waterway is great. We were visiting in the evening and had to wonder how nice it would be during the day.
We all chose fixed menus without the additional wine flight. The good was really well prepared and presented The care in the preparation was more than exemplified by the flavours. 2 of us had veal for the main dish and believe it was the best we had ever tasted. Well done to the chef.

The staff were as expected in an establishment of this quality. They were all very knowledgeable and very attentive- without being obtrusive!

A great evening and definitely on me return list for the very near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worthy of all the praise it is getting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

La Rive was the venue for a family reunion, chosen by the reviews and the" star". The restaurant is certainly worthy of the praise: the food, wine, ambience and service are all of the highest quality.

We did want a family dinner, maybe unusually for a restaurant of this kind we had two children and two babies in the group. As we could have the "Wine room" at our disposal, this did not cause any difficulty. The restaurant handled the planning promplty and efficiently.

The set menus and their wine packages were very well composed, the food and wine in perfect harmony for most courses. A special mention goes to the sommelier, his insight to the producers and wines was interesting and informative. At times his presentation caused a lively discussion.

The food was delicieous, the portions reasonable so the feeling after a 5 - 6 course menu was not too heavy. The service and attention during the stay was faultless.

Unfortunately, we could not stay to explore the after-dinner drinks trolley, but I spotted some real rarities in it. La Rive is not cheap, but it is worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here overlooking the Amstel. The food was excellent. The service was truly top notch. The Sommelier who provided matching wine for the degustation meal was incredibly informative about each of the wines which came from different parts of the world. We can highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;