We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of all the praise it is getting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 2,280 restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worthy of all the praise it is getting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

La Rive was the venue for a family reunion, chosen by the reviews and the" star". The restaurant is certainly worthy of the praise: the food, wine, ambience and service are all of the highest quality.

We did want a family dinner, maybe unusually for a restaurant of this kind we had two children and two babies in the group. As we could have the "Wine room" at our disposal, this did not cause any difficulty. The restaurant handled the planning promplty and efficiently.

The set menus and their wine packages were very well composed, the food and wine in perfect harmony for most courses. A special mention goes to the sommelier, his insight to the producers and wines was interesting and informative. At times his presentation caused a lively discussion.

The food was delicieous, the portions reasonable so the feeling after a 5 - 6 course menu was not too heavy. The service and attention during the stay was faultless.

Unfortunately, we could not stay to explore the after-dinner drinks trolley, but I spotted some real rarities in it. La Rive is not cheap, but it is worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    139
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here overlooking the Amstel. The food was excellent. The service was truly top notch. The Sommelier who provided matching wine for the degustation meal was incredibly informative about each of the wines which came from different parts of the world. We can highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect and Elegant dinner in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to La Rive this week for a dinner with customers. Ambiance and decoration is very elegant, located in the impressive Intercontinental Hotel in Amsterdam. Food and Service was remarkably good, best I have had in several months. I highly recommend the suggested menu by the chef, with a perfect combination of flavors and textures. Service was simply perfect, all dishes on time, very sympathetic and warm treatment. Wine menu quite decent with a good mix of European bottles. Highly recommended for a best-in-class dinner either with friends or customers, specially when you want a quite and elegant place where conversations and enjoy of the moment are the stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience here. We were seated at a beautiful table looking out at the canal. We had a tasting menu with the accompanying wine tasting. The waiter explained why he chose the wines. You have 2 choices, "The left and the right". The meals are different except for an eel dish. It was a meal we'll be thinking about for quite some time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine pairing, served by very knowledgeable, fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We sampled the 5 course food and wine pairing last Friday. I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable evening we have had and we eat out a lot in Houston! The food was fantastic and the wines which were paired were excellent. The atmosphere was superb helped by a very fun loving but knowledgeable staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.