We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here overlooking the Amstel. The food was excellent. The service was truly top notch. The Sommelier who provided matching wine for the degustation meal was incredibly informative about each of the wines which came from different parts of the world. We can highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect and Elegant dinner in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to La Rive this week for a dinner with customers. Ambiance and decoration is very elegant, located in the impressive Intercontinental Hotel in Amsterdam. Food and Service was remarkably good, best I have had in several months. I highly recommend the suggested menu by the chef, with a perfect combination of flavors and textures. Service was simply perfect, all dishes on time, very sympathetic and warm treatment. Wine menu quite decent with a good mix of European bottles. Highly recommended for a best-in-class dinner either with friends or customers, specially when you want a quite and elegant place where conversations and enjoy of the moment are the stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience here. We were seated at a beautiful table looking out at the canal. We had a tasting menu with the accompanying wine tasting. The waiter explained why he chose the wines. You have 2 choices, "The left and the right". The meals are different except for an eel dish. It was a meal we'll be thinking about for quite some time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine pairing, served by very knowledgeable, fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We sampled the 5 course food and wine pairing last Friday. I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable evening we have had and we eat out a lot in Houston! The food was fantastic and the wines which were paired were excellent. The atmosphere was superb helped by a very fun loving but knowledgeable staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"Dissapointing"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Supposed to be the highlight dinner for this trip in Amsterdam but left highly disappointed. Firstly, the restaurant is pretentious and the atmosphere is dead !!!! Food wise, nothing unique and the chef made a blunder at our food!!!! Price is on the high side and service was just so-so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.