We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience here. We were seated at a beautiful table looking out at the canal. We had a tasting menu with the accompanying wine tasting. The waiter explained why he chose the wines. You have 2 choices, "The left and the right". The meals are different except for an eel dish. It was a meal we'll be thinking about for quite some time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine pairing, served by very knowledgeable, fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We sampled the 5 course food and wine pairing last Friday. I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable evening we have had and we eat out a lot in Houston! The food was fantastic and the wines which were paired were excellent. The atmosphere was superb helped by a very fun loving but knowledgeable staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"Dissapointing"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Supposed to be the highlight dinner for this trip in Amsterdam but left highly disappointed. Firstly, the restaurant is pretentious and the atmosphere is dead !!!! Food wise, nothing unique and the chef made a blunder at our food!!!! Price is on the high side and service was just so-so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here as part of my husbands 40th birthday. The whole experience was great. We were treated so well by the staff and wanted for nothing.
The menu has two choices and you can leave some courses out if you wish to. We were given some fantastic appetisers and home made bread. When we choose our wine we were given very helpful advise.
Each course come with an explanation, the food was out of this world. We were then given a pre desert appetiser, and then after ice cream we were given a cocktail desert which was a fantastic way to finish the meal.
The attention to detail was fantastic - even having happy birthday written on my husbands dessert.
There was one disappointment - we were told the dress code was jacket - but during our meal a rowdy group of people arrived in jeans and t-shirts - there were taken straight through to the kitchen and so didn't spoil our night.
Thank you so much for a fabulous night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am a very conservative eater with a lot of food I don't care to eat plus a few intollerances. A nightmare to feed! But I choose one of the options from the taster menu and they made me a main course of my choice .... venison. It was delicious.
My partner ... who can eat anything and will try everything, had the droit menu and loved everything.
Expensive? Yes. But to paraphrase 'the eperience will be remembered long after the cost is forgotten'
The waiters were a pleasure to watch serving everyone, the sommelier was a poet in his presentation and description of the wine. But they were so friendly and personable too.
It really was an evening to remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.