We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and wine pairing, served by very knowledgeable, fun staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 520 3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 2,469 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine pairing, served by very knowledgeable, fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We sampled the 5 course food and wine pairing last Friday. I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable evening we have had and we eat out a lot in Houston! The food was fantastic and the wines which were paired were excellent. The atmosphere was superb helped by a very fun loving but knowledgeable staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    29
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“"Dissapointing"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Supposed to be the highlight dinner for this trip in Amsterdam but left highly disappointed. Firstly, the restaurant is pretentious and the atmosphere is dead !!!! Food wise, nothing unique and the chef made a blunder at our food!!!! Price is on the high side and service was just so-so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here as part of my husbands 40th birthday. The whole experience was great. We were treated so well by the staff and wanted for nothing.
The menu has two choices and you can leave some courses out if you wish to. We were given some fantastic appetisers and home made bread. When we choose our wine we were given very helpful advise.
Each course come with an explanation, the food was out of this world. We were then given a pre desert appetiser, and then after ice cream we were given a cocktail desert which was a fantastic way to finish the meal.
The attention to detail was fantastic - even having happy birthday written on my husbands dessert.
There was one disappointment - we were told the dress code was jacket - but during our meal a rowdy group of people arrived in jeans and t-shirts - there were taken straight through to the kitchen and so didn't spoil our night.
Thank you so much for a fabulous night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am a very conservative eater with a lot of food I don't care to eat plus a few intollerances. A nightmare to feed! But I choose one of the options from the taster menu and they made me a main course of my choice .... venison. It was delicious.
My partner ... who can eat anything and will try everything, had the droit menu and loved everything.
Expensive? Yes. But to paraphrase 'the eperience will be remembered long after the cost is forgotten'
The waiters were a pleasure to watch serving everyone, the sommelier was a poet in his presentation and description of the wine. But they were so friendly and personable too.
It really was an evening to remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

2nd meal in amsterdam, great location, beautiful hotel, lovely restaurant very helpful staff, food was excellent, we had set menu la droite or gauche, worth every penny, wine selection good and reasonable price for such great food

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.