We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location BUT.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 2,412 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location BUT.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

La Rive was great the food was what dreams are made off "Fantastic" the staff was fabulous and position wonderful. It was expensive but it was worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    24
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive, but you will enjoy it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booking is mandatory. If you can, ask for a table in front of window.
Staff is very friendly and informative despite the very formal look.
Be aware that restaurant has only to menu choices, each one consisting of a preselection of 5 (you can adjust it from 3 to 6) dishes, but this doesn't mean you wil get stucked without choice as the food, including presentation, is very very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view, great food, a good place to splurge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ate here while on a business trip. There are basically two menu choices - the right side or the left side. My colleague and ordered the opposite sides of the menu so we could see the entire presentation. The wait staff was excellent and so was the food. My favorite of the entire tasting was the candied tomato. I could have eaten an entire plate of those. If you are in Amsterdam and want to splurge on a high end dining experience, this is certainly a good place to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good food , THE people are very kind , we enjoy very Much . Thanks for the Cook and Waiter. We Will definetly visit agian .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Expensive but Definitely Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived, 7pm reservations and Europeans tend to eat later. An amuse bouche of a single small tomato, with a whole list of things done to it was definitely the best mouthful of food I have ever eaten. Beware, the cost listed in our hotel guide did understate the price considerably. The menus offer limited choice and reasonably sized portions so that we did not leave feeling bad from eating too much. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.