We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best michelin experience to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best michelin experience to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were welcomed to the restaurant and taken to lovely table at the window overlooking the Amstel. The knowledge and obvious interest in the restaurant's food/drink that the waiting staff had was immediately obvious, however they were not stuffy or pompous but friendly with a great sense of humour. We chose the 6-course tasting menu "la gauche" which was absolutely outstanding. From the first appetisers to the final petits fours with the coffees it was one tasty delight after another.

It is a Michelin restaurant and so you do expect to pay more, however the food and overall experience more than justified the final bill. Do remember that the courses in taster menus are small (they have to be as, with the appetisers etc, there are so many of them) and so please don't go if you are looking for large big plates of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sublime dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The service.. their knowledge about the wines, cheeses, the food.. Their wittiness/approach/sense of humor and very professional and polite..

The food.. the surprise when tasting it..

Must try when in Amsterdam.

Thanks again team La Rive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Hi , i took my wife there in our honeymoon ya it do cost alot but its worth it , evreything was great from the moment we enter until we left we were treated like kings , food was one if not the best i ever taste , you should try it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Amsterdam by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wow, went here for our 5th wedding anniversary and could not have chosen a better place to eat. I did feel a little out of my depth as we walked in but we were soon put at ease by the professional staff who were very informative, meal was accompanied by a great choice of wines. The only downside was the price but hey we are worth spoiling every now and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not very special at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If I describe the food at la rive I say it's not quite unique. The chef made a few simple blunders at our food. I had a lot more expected due to the high position on TA. Doubt of this restaurant is worth the star. The price is a bit high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.