We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In my opinion the best in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rive

La Rive
Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam 1018 GX, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-520-3264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In my opinion the best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The best setting, the best staff, the best menu........
A new tasting menu has been launched although you may still choose two dishes to have as starter and main if you don't fancy 5 or 6 courses. The staff are amongst the best I've experienced in any restaurant and they made our evening just perfect. Expensive but EXCELLENT value and the wine list is a joy!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    135
    24
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was without a doubt the best meal I have ever eaten. The hotel and restaurant are amazing, the staff were so attentive, you really do feel spoiled!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We celebrated the birthday of my wife. We were made for the best table. The staff were friendly and charming. Behold the dress code everything was warm and friendly. About the kitchen nothing to say: this is a delight! Wines choise is great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I highly recommend this restaurant to all lovers of great food. It is costly but in terms of value - service, food, quality of ingredients, wine, cheese, view, ambience - it delivers on all fronts. I would highly urge those normally put off by stiff and formal appearing dining rooms to give it a go because beneath the beige, still lifes and crisp white linen was an impeccable level of service, notable for the personality, engagement and clear love of the job of all who attended to us. Of course, the service can't be faultless without a wonderful product to present and La Rive did not let us down there either. My husband and I had the alternate set menus with paired wines - again, a good way for novices (like us) to get to grips with gastronomy without the tyranny of choice. I had the Droite menu and my husband the Gauche. My starter of tartare was divine and plentiful with my stand out dishes being a wonderful, intoxicating truffle and brie dish that I adored. Jon's pigeon was a highlight with a beautiful sauce and an excellent chocolate desert with excellent ice cream. Wines were paired sensitively to the dishes and we enjoyed two highly contrasted Barbera d'Albas that made for a good topic of conversation. I can't conclude without mentioning the view, out onto the Amstel, with all of the city twinkling beyond us - bliss! My only regret was that I didn't save room for all the Dutch cheese trolley which looked amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Actually one of the best in the country. Don't be mislead by the classic decor, this is not a formal (cold) place at all. Staff is friendly and very professional. The best reason to eat in La Rive is the excellent, refined, creative, surprising, FANTASTIC food. I haven't been in any restaurant serving better food than here. Unforgettable.
Expensive, but worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.