We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best Kept Secrets In Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemelse Modder

Hemelse Modder
Oude Waal 11, 1011 BZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 624 3203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Itala, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Kept Secrets In Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Hemelse Modder serves a limited menu of modern Dutch cuisine in a relaxed environment away from the usual tourists area. They are successful because they provide the sort of attention to detail and a contemporary ambience that appears effortless. The food is in ample proportions, cooked to perfection and served with a genuine respect. You get what you pay for, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who prefers to be treated to the best in Dutch hospitality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    63
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“cosy place excellent for dining with a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went with a group of 15 after a conference. Table was all set and hosts made us feel very welcome. Service was above average, unassuming but very efficient. We hardly noticed their milling around. Dinner itself was very good, limited menu for the group I guess but choice of fish, vegetarian and lamb. The latter was excellent, people were not too impressed by the vegetarian pie but I did not try it. Desert of course had to be the chocolate dish that give the place its name. beware, it is so tasty you may eat it all which is too much! All in all e very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Warm welcome, true recepies and perfect adequation of beverages. Very good To be recommended. Quite ambiance in a large room

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited Hemelse Modder in somewhat of a rush - I explained this to the lady who greeted us (perfect English), she was easily one of the most helpful people I've ever met. We were seated quickly, our order taken promptly and food delivered with a smile and as quickly as it was possible. We all loved our food and I have to say that my steak (rare) was cooked perfectly. Our deserts were served with our bill so that we could pay quickly and manage to try some of the delicious almond tart before catching our train. A fabulous restaurant, great staff and delicious food - well worth a re-visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything on the menu is home made.
Good price / quality.
Vegeterians also have a variety of choises
Specially love the fries with home made mayonaisse!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemelse Modder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hemelse Modder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemelse Modder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.