We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
54 Damrak, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 638 3222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #760 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We travelled as a group of 7 on a Saturday night after reading the tripadvisor reviews and discovering this one was the closest to centraal station.
The location is great although you do have to go down a little corridor to get there which is adjacent to a gay steam room... Don't let that put you off.

The service and friendliness of staff was 5 star with the food being a 3.5. The starters, chicken pakoras were lovely and the poppadoms very tasty.

Unfortunately all 7 of us found the main meal a little salty with the naan bread and roti almost inedible for some of us. However the dishes were great and we all tried something different. My lamb saag dopiaza was great although I wish they used fresh spinach- all the meat was very tender and we did tell the owner that we thought it was salty- perhaps personal preference.

If you are in the area then do call in as it is worth a trip. Average meal including rice and salad is 16€.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    16
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times. If I have time, I always go to Gandhi restaurant. Food is excellent. It's authentic Indian as the cooks are from India. Even the owner f this place is also originally Indian. Prices are reasonable and location is good. Just a few minutes walk from the central station. Worth trying

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is the only Indian restaurant that I found in Amsterdam. The food was not bad. However as I was craving Indian food I enjoyed it. the staff were friendly and service was quick.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has been a surprise!
From outside it doesn't look like the nice restaurant you will find after the long corridor.
We have eaten two times here with some friends and we really have appreciated their punjabi food... mmmm very delicious and really Indian!
Prices are good and the employees (thanks to Subu) who work there are very kind like the owner of the place Mr. Singh.
Go with an empty stomach to fill it up with their yummy food!
We will remember this restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic halal indian food in Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love good indian food and the food was so good we don't mind driving 1.5 hours from Eindhoven to Amsterdam for Gandhi. It is halal, which is important for us and the food is consistently tasty. Don't let the entrance scare you. It looks like a walkway to a seedy massage parlour. But keep on walking and order a plate :)

We've been there so many times that the staff recognizes us - the indian food lovers from Eindhoven. The staff are also nice. Our favourite is the tarka dal, vindaloo and biryani. The price is also reasonable - normally we spend 30 -35 euros for two including drinks. Everytime we receive visitors from Malaysia we'll recommend Gandhi and they will sing the same praises. Gandhi, please open a branch in Eindhoven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.