We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
54 Damrak, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 638 3222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #833 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times. If I have time, I always go to Gandhi restaurant. Food is excellent. It's authentic Indian as the cooks are from India. Even the owner f this place is also originally Indian. Prices are reasonable and location is good. Just a few minutes walk from the central station. Worth trying

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    26
    38
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has been a surprise!
From outside it doesn't look like the nice restaurant you will find after the long corridor.
We have eaten two times here with some friends and we really have appreciated their punjabi food... mmmm very delicious and really Indian!
Prices are good and the employees (thanks to Subu) who work there are very kind like the owner of the place Mr. Singh.
Go with an empty stomach to fill it up with their yummy food!
We will remember this restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic halal indian food in Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love good indian food and the food was so good we don't mind driving 1.5 hours from Eindhoven to Amsterdam for Gandhi. It is halal, which is important for us and the food is consistently tasty. Don't let the entrance scare you. It looks like a walkway to a seedy massage parlour. But keep on walking and order a plate :)

We've been there so many times that the staff recognizes us - the indian food lovers from Eindhoven. The staff are also nice. Our favourite is the tarka dal, vindaloo and biryani. The price is also reasonable - normally we spend 30 -35 euros for two including drinks. Everytime we receive visitors from Malaysia we'll recommend Gandhi and they will sing the same praises. Gandhi, please open a branch in Eindhoven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an indian restaurant in Amsterdam, and found Gandhi here on TripAdvisor. Our first visit was so successful that we decided to go back the next evening as well. And there is no doubt: Gandhi has the best Butter Chicken we have ever tasted. Incredible!
The staff is lovely and the atmosphere is good. Don´t get fooled by the entrance (a long corridor they share with a sauna…). If you want to have a superb indian meal in Amsterdam, Gandhi is the right place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Amsterdam in a Central place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were staying near Central station and on a work trip for four days , we looked around for Indian food. We dined at three Indian restaurants (reviews I may give another time). Out of the three we found this the nearest to Indian food (Considering that usually the food is modified to local tastes a little bit. The rotis treated real good , the chicken dishes were good AND the rice and Biryani were really cooked well unlike the other restaurants where it is slightly undercooked. Good service and we went near closing time and still they served us well. We were not sure when we went looking for it , it's a small board and we and to go through an alley/corridor but it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.