We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
54 Damrak, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 638 3222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #769 of 2,553 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times. If I have time, I always go to Gandhi restaurant. Food is excellent. It's authentic Indian as the cooks are from India. Even the owner f this place is also originally Indian. Prices are reasonable and location is good. Just a few minutes walk from the central station. Worth trying

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is the only Indian restaurant that I found in Amsterdam. The food was not bad. However as I was craving Indian food I enjoyed it. the staff were friendly and service was quick.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has been a surprise!
From outside it doesn't look like the nice restaurant you will find after the long corridor.
We have eaten two times here with some friends and we really have appreciated their punjabi food... mmmm very delicious and really Indian!
Prices are good and the employees (thanks to Subu) who work there are very kind like the owner of the place Mr. Singh.
Go with an empty stomach to fill it up with their yummy food!
We will remember this restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic halal indian food in Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love good indian food and the food was so good we don't mind driving 1.5 hours from Eindhoven to Amsterdam for Gandhi. It is halal, which is important for us and the food is consistently tasty. Don't let the entrance scare you. It looks like a walkway to a seedy massage parlour. But keep on walking and order a plate :)

We've been there so many times that the staff recognizes us - the indian food lovers from Eindhoven. The staff are also nice. Our favourite is the tarka dal, vindaloo and biryani. The price is also reasonable - normally we spend 30 -35 euros for two including drinks. Everytime we receive visitors from Malaysia we'll recommend Gandhi and they will sing the same praises. Gandhi, please open a branch in Eindhoven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were umming and erring about going to this restaurant. From the outside it looked liked a brothel, with being down a long narrow corridor with a sauna right next door. But don't let this put you off, as we were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good and the service staff were very friendly. They even checked the premiership scores for us through teletext, which we didn't know still existed! At the end of the meal the owner gave us liquors on the houses. I got a mango one which was lovely, but my partner got rum, which he drank with a forced face of gratitude. All in all, lovely food, great service and good prices. We spent about 40 eur on our meal which we found very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.