We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian Food in Amsterdam in a Central place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
54 Damrak, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020 638 3222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #720 of 2,528 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
AUH
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Amsterdam in a Central place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were staying near Central station and on a work trip for four days , we looked around for Indian food. We dined at three Indian restaurants (reviews I may give another time). Out of the three we found this the nearest to Indian food (Considering that usually the food is modified to local tastes a little bit. The rotis treated real good , the chicken dishes were good AND the rice and Biryani were really cooked well unlike the other restaurants where it is slightly undercooked. Good service and we went near closing time and still they served us well. We were not sure when we went looking for it , it's a small board and we and to go through an alley/corridor but it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    14
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Indian food at Gandhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location isn't as difficult to find as one may think from previous reviews. Just look for the Gandhi sign and follow down the hallway towards the rear of the building.

Service is friendly and helpful. Our server from Nepal was really good at suggesting some excellent dishes.

Overall, great location and solid choice for Indian food on the Damrak. Give it a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent indian cuisine. The fish preparation was awesome. Everyone in our group (14 in all) enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food..a bit congested restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food at Gandhi is great Indian food. And price is also not too bad, compared to other Indian restaurants I've seen in Amsterdam. The location is perfect-close to Dam Square BUT you will have to find your way to this restaurant as its in a small alley/corridor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A work colleague recommended the restuarant we were a group of 14. The staff were helpful with the menu choice and provived a great meal for all concerned including some with food requests.
Entrance is strange but do not be put off the food is great will be back next year at IBC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.