We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch but good chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dynasty

Dynasty
Reguliersdwarsstraat 30, 1017 BM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-626-8400
Improve this listing
Ranked #482 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Kitsch but good chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You will not fall of your chair in excitement over the food in this very kitsch and busy chinese. But if you dont mind the long wait in between courses you will have a good meal. We had the duck, the secret of the oxtail and a Massaman curry and they were all good dishes. They also have a decent winelist for a chinese and staff was very friendly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    20
    16
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“best asian food in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

for starters order the thai beef salat and the lobster loempia,for every one on the table.
then for the main dish: plaka pong and crispy fish and the secret of the ox.(share this with 4 people).
with the maindish you should order mie krob for sure.
believe me you will love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service and disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been to Dynasty many times on our visits and it was always our first choice. Service is usually a little slow but it is worth waiting for generally. On this occasion it was our anniversary so just the two of us for a change. The service was ridiculously slow - even getting a drink refill took forever. We waited 40 mins after our starter for our main course before we complained. My husband then complained twice more before we were actually served it an hour after our starters. They did not care - simply said they were busy. Which is fine but the couple beside us arrived 15 minutes after us and had finished their main courses before we were even served ours. The maitre'd was very chatty with them and seemed to know them. We were given two free glasses of wine each to compensate but not much of an apology. When our main course arrived the fish dish was bland and tasteless which is very unusual as their food is usually amazing. We ate very little of it but no-one came near us to allow us to make comment. On clearing the table they were surprised and asked why we did not eat it and we said it was tasteless and bland and not at all enjoyable. They smiled and said ok. We had ordered 2 starters, 2 mains (including the expensive fish one) and 2 sides along with wine and a bottle of champagne so the bill was almost 300 euros. No apology at all on the poor service or disappointing dish as we were paying and leaving. It's the only time we have not left a tip. Despite this place being our favourite restaurant with tastebud tingling food on all previous occasions my husband refuses to return and gave them any more of our hard earned cash after their dismissive attitiude. Disappointing after years of great experiences.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Upscale quality Oriental restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Always great to be back!.......the spring rolls are outstanding, the Won Ton soup delicious, and the steamed fish in a light curry sauce amazing!........the atmosphere very nice, the service very friendly, the Maitre from Mauritius a great host!.........what else??? it's a timeless restaurant
that exists for over 25 years, creative kitchen. fresh products and very comfortable!

Thanks for the great evenings!

Roeland Biever

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great food long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Service was good but slow waited over an hour for our main course
Foie gras was ok a little cold
Salad was good
Duck curry was good
Squid turbot dish excellent
Pad Thai more chow mein than pad Thai but all in all a good meal
Would go back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dynasty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.