We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rFirst class eating venue.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Dorrius

New Dorrius
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-5211750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Description: Dorrius restaurant in the midst of oldest Amsterdam is a blast of authentic, traditional Old Dutch and Old Dutch atmosphere. Founded in 1890, Dorrius has been feeding hungry Amsterdammers with their favourite dishes through two world wars and into the 21st century. Occupying a pair of leaning townhouses, the restaurant is done out in trad style – wood paneled walls, amber-tinted lighting, beamed ceilings, brown palette throughout – filled with polyglot tourists, bustling waiters and irresistible aromas. The starters include Zealand bouillabaisse with garlic crouton, mains include hotchpotch of endive with meatballs, and desserts feature classic Hangop of buttermilk, Dutch rusk, cinnamon, soft brown sugar and cream. A specials menu changes monthly. Groups and private dining are most welcome here, with accommodation for up to 90 guests.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“rFirst class eating venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great food quality, excellently prepared and served. So many lovely staff it is difficult to name one, a huge thankyou to them all.
Please try this venue even if not staying in the hotel.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First dinner in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were tired after travelling from US and not sleeping for 20+ hours. The New Dorrius was connected to the Crown Plaza hotel and were able to seat us for dinner without reservations. The food was excellent. There was a rather lengthy wait for the main course after appetizers. Servers were all very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice bar in the hotel. Good prices, nice staff, very clean. We did not eat there,but the food looked good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place and marvellous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The place is stilish and nice. The food quality is excellent and the preparation is outstanding. It's a bit pricey but you wouldn't be disappointed at the end of the meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powder1000
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Waiter shouted at me.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was sitting outside the restaurant on the chairs provided in the street, having a smoke. A member of staff came outside and rudely and abruptly told me this was not a smoking area and I must leave. I was utterly shocked, firstly by his nasty tone of voice and bad manner of speaking and secondly as I had sat their earlier in the day with my husband having a drink and a smoke and their was no problem. I told the staff member this and explained that I was also staying at their hotel. I then explained that I would have ordered a drink this time too, however no one had come outside to offer me one. Well his entire attitude changed when he heard I was staying at the hotel, and consequently offered me a drink on the house.

I would think that as this is a restaurant, their main aim is to make money. So perhaps next time, when people are seated on their chairs, they should rather offer them a menu, than shout at their potential customers. (I think they teach that in Waiter 101)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Dorrius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New Dorrius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Dorrius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.