We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb... As always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Klos

Cafe De Klos
Kerkstraat 41, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 625 3730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb... As always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

And again. Delicious ribs, fast and accurate service.
Look no further. Simply the best.
Best to come at about 16:00, so you can choose the best table (Near the window).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    174
    30
    9
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One night in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had a one night lay over in Amsterdam on my way back from Barcelona... I wanted to make the best out of that and I asked around - where would I get the best steak in town...
Amsterdam is one of my most favored cities... but was never high in my list of most favorite restaurants until I had the opportunity to eat at the Café de Klos in Amsterdam.
I would say that this was one of my most favorite steaks that I have ever had. The steak was made to perfection, medium cooked, tender, juicy and not a great deal of fuss around the steam.
This Café, like many other restaurants in Amsterdam, is actually very small, its a challenge to get a seat... you need reservations or else you have a wait.
Once you get your seat ( i got one at the bar) the menu options are simple... Steak Steak and more steaks with only a small green salad on the side or possibly a small bowl of steak fries.
nothing too extravagant, they don't do anything else and the steaks are well marinated and grilling is done right infront of your eyes (behind the bar).
The atmosphere is very friendly, the waiters are knowledgeable, well spoken and most importantly extremely very funny.
you get a feeling all round that this is a friendly place to be in and it is very comforting.
if you are a meat lover and you simply want a good steak in Amsterdam... café de klos is the way to go... hard core steak

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ribs a must.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Thought this was going to be a quiet night and at most restaurants it probably would have been but here we had to wait 45 minutes for a table but it was well worth it.

The staff are friendly and ask that you wait just over the road in another friendly bar while you wait for a place.

Ordered the mixed ribs and had smoked and plain ribs. I wish I shared the plate because the portions were large. They even asked if I wanted a jacket potato but I would never have finished that.

Beer is good with a choice of light or dark beers.

Price is reasonable for the amount you get. If I go again I would order the same but get an extra plate and share with whoever I am with.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Medium Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hi guy's I read about Cafe Klos on TripAdvisor so we went to Amsterdam on 25 Feb 2014,we went there on a Thrusday evening it wploeas pack and it was not even 1900hrs yet so we got the last two seat on the back side of the bar which is good cause we had a outside veiw of the street watching people walk buy why we chatted, yes it take a while but the wait is worth it, and I mean dat. You see I'm a professional cook for over 40 years in the business so if i have to wait then its fresh and cooked to order.I order lamb chops with baked potatoes,for starter's i had Escargot with garlic bread OOF DI HOOK MON, yes you can watch the cook cooking your steaks, chops, or ribs. Speaking of ribs what i hear they have some of best smoked rib's and also grilled rib's, tenerlion steak, shoulder of grilled Lamb, grilled chicken all the meat is griied, LECKER. they have a goood sortment of beer,dark,hellis, and wine you need not come all fancy dressed up, jean are ok. But I say this you get your MONEY worth. So what are you waiting for go there and dig in PROOST as they say here in German. P.S. This place is not for Romance, put your bib on and digg in you chow hounds cause you will be licking your fingers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great spare ribs with very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you want to have a good meal for a good price try this one.
Spare ribs are the must have here: smoked or not smoked. The portions are very generous: I always choose the ladies portion (and the staff will laugh at me...)
The staff is great: sense of humour at the top.
Be prepared to wait specially during the weekends, as the restaurant does not accept reservations. But for sure the waiting time is worthwile

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Klos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Klos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Klos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.