We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love De Klos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Klos

Cafe De Klos
Kerkstraat 41, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 625 3730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“We love De Klos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Make sure you're hungry before visiting De Klos. As many other travellers have mentioned the ribs are excellent, the portions huge and both times my wife and I have visited the service has been really good. A great place to enjoy a mountain of meat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    186
    32
    9
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is predominantly a rib restaurant and the quality and quantlty of the ribs supports this. They do not do fries but we shared a baked potato, oozing with butter and garlic, which was a far better choice.

The staff are friendly and efficient.

We got there around 1800 and were lucky as we immediately got seats. Most of the seats are at the bar which is fine for a couple but not great for a group, however there are a few tables.

During our meal we noticed the oft mentioned practice of shipping people to the bar across the road to wait for a seat. This rapidly went up to a 90 minute wait. Moral of the story - arrive early.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

When we arrived, it was full. However, we were kindly asked to wait in near bar till they'll have table for us. Near bar was empty, just us. Ordered some drinks and in just 15 min. we were already have table in De Klos, finishing our drinks ordered previously in near bar. Service was good and food were awesome. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam. My wife and I had a great evening here. We had to wait 90 minutes in the bar over the road. Ignore what a recent review says -
the staff are fantastic and add to the experience. Great food great service. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am a pescaterian, BUT once every 6 months I have the worst craving for meat, which I haven't learned how to control yet. This is the place where we go during such an occasion, because I have never had ribs that tasted this good in my life! They don't take reservations, but if you come in the evening you can enjoy a drink across the street while you wait for a table. Really, it IS worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Klos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Klos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Klos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.