We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ribs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Klos

Cafe De Klos
Kerkstraat 41, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 625 3730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I go here every year while attending the IBC conference. The bar is a real dive ;-) In a good way!
The food is great, the abuse from the staff for stepping out of line gives it character. Turn up and ask for a table, expect an X hour wait. They have bar next door, so settle in for a drink and wait your turn ..... It's worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    187
    33
    9
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maybe not worth the wait, but delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

They had us wait across the street at the Cafe Genootschap Der Geneugten (which they own) where we relaxed and had a few beers. The wait was quoted as 30-45 minutes but ended up at a little more than an hour.

But the food was delicious we got several dishes and everyone tried everything - my favorites were the lamb shoulder (which is what I ordered) or the smoked chicken. But the mixed ribs were also quite good. Realistically, if you in general like the type of meat you order, I suspect you'll be in for a great meal.

The menu indicates they don't accept credit cards, but they did accept credit cards with a 5% surcharge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“EAT. THE. RIBS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Walked across town to get here on a friend's recommendation. Upon arrival my girlfriend couldn't help but blurt out "oh, is this it?" in a very underwhelmed tone. Once I'd got her inside though it was all smiles. Great service and fantastic food. The mixed ribs plate is huge, definitely enough for 2 to share and it comes with bread. Ask for the garlic butter! Possibly the greatest ribs I've ever eaten. Will be visiting this place every time I'm in the area. NOM NOM NOM

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Five times in six visits to AMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Love it here. The staff, the food, the sister bar. I've only ever eaten ribs here (mixed at e21) and believe I will always visit when in town.

The staff are great. The little waiting bar over the road is great. The ribs are amazing.

Not sure what else to add. The cost was ~e50 for two very hungry diners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If service isn't a priority, this a the place for you.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great food for carnivores but service is much to be desired.
The waiters hinge on the point of rudeness.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Klos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Klos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Klos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.