We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Klos

Cafe De Klos
Kerkstraat 41, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 625 3730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
La Zenia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sat up at the bar as we were told that it cost more to sit at the window. Two of us ordered the ribs and two of us ordered the steak. My brother, who had been here before, told me it came with salad and bread but was a LOT of food and advised me against getting a baked potato...well I'm glad I didn't! On a wooden board came out 3 absolute monster racks of ribs, a bowl of lovely salad, dipping sauces, and a basket of French bread sliced up. It was more of a project than a meal! When we arrived we were pretty much the only people in the place but as the evening went on, it began to fill up and added to the lovely atmosphere :)! Everyone laughing and talking, and of course enjoying beautiful food!The meat was beautifully tender and seasoned. Kept thinking about it the whole 4 days that I was in Amsterdam, THAT'S how good it is!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    186
    32
    9
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
1 review
“A special experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

If you want to eat something different and a bit special this place is a must. Im not usually in to ribs but i could be a convert if they all tasted like this. The food was superb and the bustling atmosphere great. Loved the whole thing. A great recommendation from a local friend and the other TA reviews don't lie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kuwait city
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Now I understand Meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have to say that after going in that restaurant's experience i would say that all the meat i had in my life earlier was nothing. This is one of my most favorable place to go eat in Amsterdam. Surrounded by food lover " meat and grill lovers" you get to have this feeling of each and everyone around you enjoying his dish. for me i had the lamb shoulder ( which was huge quantity of meat) and I was in love. and for the prices compared to any other place it was so cheap and in hand.

If you love meat you definitly need to go there. Its an A place.
P.s> The bar man might seem to be rough or moody but he isnt they are all fun wise people who would serve you the best and only the best Food

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Ribs and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for the ribs and wasn't disappointed. Three racks apiece and I was full. The non-carnivore in the group really liked the chicken breast, so happy faces all round. It does get busy. We went early evening on Tuesday and struggled - but managed - to get space for four together at the back. Service was extrememly courteous and helpful. Steaks looked great, too, but most people were going for the ribs. This is not a place for vegetarians or a quiet drink, it's all about the meat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best spareribs in Holland by far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is place serves the best spareribs from Holland. The beer is ok but not awesome. The smoked spareribs are the best with nice salad, bread, etc. The place is comfortable.
But the service is bad. The guys insist to be too personal and don't give people too much privacy. Luckily they offer a nice food, otherwise, there wouldn't be nothing special but just another cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Klos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Klos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Klos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.