We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very hot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Kamerlingh Onneslaan 3, 1097 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-462-4562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 2,550 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Very, very hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Take over a run down greenhouse. Convert half to grow your own veg and the other half into your own restaurant and you have a super hip combo. Highly recommend this restaurant. It is very slick, a bit off kilter and just great food. Enjoy the experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    177
    48
    32
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Presentation of food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very out of the way for an Amsterdam tourist, approximately $20 euro cab one way fare from city center. Nice setting - restaurant in a greenhouse where they grow their own vegetables. Meal is 3 course fixed which you can expand to include a cheeseboard. The starter and first course were very good, but the main entree was mackerel that was too fishy to eat. Since it was a fixed dinner, we didn't know that we could ask for something else until we had finished the course. Would have been nice if server had shared that info with us ahead of time. Overall, the fresh vegetables were fabulous and the setting very different. I don't think I would return again. Q

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful food, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We choose this restaurant as we read that it is among the most peculiar restaurants in the world. The location is great indeed, and very elegant as well as the waiters. We had the menù with three entrees and one main course. All of them where really good and tasty but very small portions. The price is quite high for what you eat.
It is those kind of restaurants that you try once for the experience of eating in a garden.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Memorable Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been lucky enough to visit De Kas twice and I loved it on each occasion. We started with a glass of house sparkling and wander through the herb garden, followed by the three delicious courses. We all loved it. The flavours were delicately balanced, the portion sizes perfect, and we also opted for the wine matching which also added to the experience. All the staff are friendly and welcoming which isn't always the case in places the calibre of De Kas. Next time I'm booking the chef's table!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

De Kas, a greenhouse converted into a restaurant is located in a gorgeous park, walking distance
(15 minutes) from the train station. We walked into the park by a side entrance with the greenhouse at a distance. It was absolutely breath taking!
The atmosphere was warm and inviting. The service was excellent and the staff goes out of their way to make sure your visit is pleasant. They were very kind and called a taxi for us when it was time to depart.
We found the food to be fresh and delicious but it was not outstanding. We had good food and wine but not "gourmet" dining.
It was a delightful experience nonetheless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.