We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kas

De Kas
Kamerlingh Onneslaan 3, 1097 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-462-4562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just became a member of TA and I have to write a review of this awesome place. I loved the fact they grow their own veggies. You can walk and see it yourself in the attached greenhouse. The food was light and tasty. Friendly service. When I go to Amsterdam I will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    375
    139
    39
    27
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pure, honest, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Local ingredients only. Based on the time of the year. They grow their own veggies. Meat and fish are from nearby eco suppliers. Love. That's what you taste!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“one word : excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been here several times now,
and every time it is a great experience.
Great service, the food is excellent,
a seasonable set menu, most vegetables come from the greenhouse
in which the restaurant is basically located.

For an exceptional experience try the Chef's Table, in the kitchen.
With every course another well suitable wine is served.

Also a great place for a (food) party.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We reserved for 7 people and arrived an hour in advance. We were seated immediately. Really great location and atmosphere, friendly and professional staff, excellent food and wine. 3 course set menu and wine selections were definitely a success!!! We expected (and were ready) to pay more for the unique experience and great food but finally, the price was very reasonable. Thanks yo the chef and all the staff. Definitely recommending.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A memorable highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We sat at the kitchen table, and over several hours enjoyed a variety of exciting food with expertly matched wines, including some we had not previously encountered. The explanations by the chefs and maitre d' were informative without being intrusive; the knowledge of food and wine displayed by all was a joy and an education.

Locally sourced vegetables drive the menus, which are notably low carb, with wonderful fish and meat combinations. This is refreshing approach would appeal to both vegetarians and carnivores equally. It is impossible to single out any one particular dish, but only to say that we eat every single morsel.

The kitchen table is more expensive, but worth every penny for anyone with an interest in how food is prepared, menus chosen, orders taken and distributed and, of course, how the wine is chosen. There was not a hint of Gordon Ramseyesque behaviour, just calm efficiency all around.

This memorable evening was the food highlight of a delightful 5 day trip to Amsterdam. We look forward to our next visit.



Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to De Kas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.