We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tasty REAL food ! Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Bolhoed

De Bolhoed
Prinsengracht 60-62, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-626 1803
Improve this listing
Ranked #779 of 2,412 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Wallasey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty REAL food ! Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I love this place , it's understated, laid back and relaxed, which I can imagine might irriate some people and the menu is limited and actually does itself no favours as things sound so dull. Salad. Ho hum! BUT what a salad, it was amazing! The flavours are out of this world , fresh, tasty, interesting and a really great portion size. My husband had a vegetrain apsty, again it sounded dull but was packed with a wonderful selection of interesting vegetables and a wonderful curry flavour. Try it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    87
    30
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great little veggie lunchroom - well worth a trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A quaint little vegetarian lunch room situated by the 'Prinsengracht' canal in a charming location in Amsterdam. I was taken here by my Dutch partner as he was showing me his Amsterdam. The restaurant has a lot of charm. We were served quickly and the staff were friendly. Some good options to choose from, I had a great soup of the day which warmed me up! Also a nice choice of drinks available. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely almost 100% Vegan Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great setting, the food (amazing both in choice amount and quantities) was delicious, and the desserte to die for!!
Well worth a trip there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Went in but left because menu was so uninspiring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Read about this place but once we went - they only exciting thing on offer was a tofu pate on toast. Otherwise I was hummus and pita and a lasagna...things I can make and get at home.

I can't speak on the food because I didn't try it - all too boring.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having lived in Brighton, UK for some time, this restaurant reminded me of the good vegetarian restaurants I could find there. In De Bolhoed you can get veggie and vegan food, wholesome, varied and tasty. We were served very quickly despite the restaurant being completely full. I had a beetroot juice and the vegan dish of the day. Lovely!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bolhoed also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bolhoed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bolhoed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.