We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab... And eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $43 - $61
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fab... And eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We had supper here on advice of a colleague.. 5 of us..1 veggie and one fish liver..delicious. Service was attentive but not overpowering professional and yet really welcoming and friendly. Food was fresh, well made and tasted delicious from the more traditional rack of lamb (suitably pink) to the lobster bisque with cognac cream (nom nom) the were some real triumphs. Good wine. Amazing decor and centrally located.. We will be returning..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    146
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My partner and I visited for dinner on our anniversary at the weekend. We were warmly received by the staff and our request for a window seat (which we had asked for when we booked) was accommodated very graciously.
We opted for a selection across the set menu (you can choose courses from it if you don't want the full set menu) and the a la carte and everything we ordered was delicious! The portions were also generous- we shared a pudding because we couldn't bear to miss out!
The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and we did not wait long for our food despite the restaurant being full (book ahead, particularly at the weekend-people were turned away while we were having a drink in the bar).
The view, looking out over the canals, is superb. The art nouveau interior is also beautiful and very romantic! We hope to return in the future in the summer to experience sitting out on the canal-side tables!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent meal and good wine at this lovely restaurant. The atmosphere and ambiance was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can see into the kitchen and it was fascinating to watch the cook sending out all these wonderful meals whilst being so calm, collected and uncluttered (I shook his hand on the way out). All the plates were going back empty which is always a good sign. You will need to book - we booked in the UK prior to our trip and I am glad we did. We walked by the next night and they were full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Was recommended here - I was staying just over the canal in Chic and Basic. This place has a beautiful position overlooking the canal with an entrance just round the side. It is a small place with excellent, friendly service. The interior is elegant. We had a meal for 4 which was absolutely delicious. Great selection of wine and beers.

I had the lamb which was gorgeous, followed by cheeses and a port. My friend had the dessert selection which looked lovely.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back: am visiting Amsterdam later in the year - the only pity is it appear to be a venue to take a small child. Still, a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Place To Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great menu - Wonderful Sphere. Gives visitors to Amsterdam a good feeling of an original Dutch Restaurant. A Must visit in Amsterdam

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Belhamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.