We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

An Amsterdam hidden gem, one that I've been visiting since first found it over 10 years ago. Relaxed and beautiful setting, attentive staff with a great (it's limited) and well resourced menu. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    187
    36
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, not great, food but cool, stylish ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a business dinner in December. The menu, personally, was a little limited, as was the wine list, but in terms of Amsterdam, definitely one of the better restaurants. The views of the canal (make sure you ask for a table near the window), are excellent. The service was also very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes, just yes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My boyfriend took me to this excellent resteraunt this evening. We had a exquisite meal, washed down with prosecco. The service was fantastic. The cheese was excellent. It was such a romantic, personal and beautiful setting. I loved ever second. Nothing short of perfection, a fabulous last night in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely romantic meal with canal views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit within a year and still absolutely amazing! Friendly and helpful staff, awesome atmosphere and fabulous wine and food. What more could you ask for?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Xmas day in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family of three spent a delicious Xmas evening in Amsterdam at De Belhamel, arriving for a 6pm-8pm sitting to a warm welcome from the restaurant manager and his team - we were lucky to find a place as this was a rather last-minute booking. We opted for two coursee each, a la carte. The bisque soup starter was declared a little 'thin', but my salted herring (a generous portion) hit the spot. Main course were all declared excellent: two orders of succulent pork chops, and a sirloin steak that was extremely tender. No desert but good coffee to finish off. Service was appropriately attentive and warm. The overall atmosphere was pleasant and had a traditional feel to it, although something slightly lacking for me - can't put my finger on it (no complaints from the rest of the family, however!). A very pleasant evening and the bill of ± €140 included two good glasses of red wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Belhamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.