We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,812 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

An Amsterdam hidden gem, one that I've been visiting since first found it over 10 years ago. Relaxed and beautiful setting, attentive staff with a great (it's limited) and well resourced menu. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, not great, food but cool, stylish ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a business dinner in December. The menu, personally, was a little limited, as was the wine list, but in terms of Amsterdam, definitely one of the better restaurants. The views of the canal (make sure you ask for a table near the window), are excellent. The service was also very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yes, just yes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to this excellent resteraunt this evening. We had a exquisite meal, washed down with prosecco. The service was fantastic. The cheese was excellent. It was such a romantic, personal and beautiful setting. I loved ever second. Nothing short of perfection, a fabulous last night in Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank EdWood9020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely romantic meal with canal views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit within a year and still absolutely amazing! Friendly and helpful staff, awesome atmosphere and fabulous wine and food. What more could you ask for?!

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Xmas day in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family of three spent a delicious Xmas evening in Amsterdam at De Belhamel, arriving for a 6pm-8pm sitting to a warm welcome from the restaurant manager and his team - we were lucky to find a place as this was a rather last-minute booking. We opted for two coursee each, a la carte. The bisque soup starter was declared a little 'thin', but my salted herring (a generous portion) hit the spot. Main course were all declared excellent: two orders of succulent pork chops, and a sirloin steak that was extremely tender. No desert but good coffee to finish off. Service was appropriately attentive and warm. The overall atmosphere was pleasant and had a traditional feel to it, although something slightly lacking for me - can't put my finger on it (no complaints from the rest of the family, however!). A very pleasant evening and the bill of ± €140 included two good glasses of red wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecossekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing