We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although the service was slow on the day that we were there for lunch, the experience was superb. The setting, outside next to a canal, is charming, and the lunch menu offers a wider selection of items. We settled on a small tapas-style dish, and the quality of the ingredients was exceptional. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to go back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    171
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The restaurant does seem to scream class with polite staff and some nice views. We arrived here for dinner without a reservation but were able to get a seat. The entree of prawns and scallop was excellent and may have lead to disappointment of our mains. You couldn't fault the sirloin but it was not amazing. The turbot was not to our taste which was unfortunate.

The minor issue for me was the amount of time everything took.. from getting our drinks, and
meals, the attention of staff and finally our bill.

It's not a place I will be seeking out or avoiding in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We come here for dinner every time I am in Amsterdam. I love the atmosphere, the food is great, and the service is very friendly and helpful. This time, we came with my aunt and uncle and two friends. It was our final evening before leaving back to the US, and it was a perfect place to celebrate the end of a great European vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Polite staff average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely setting very friendly staff. We waited far too long for courses and when the main came was cold. We saw others who appeared unhappy with what they were served. For these prices food should be without fault. Shame this could be much better

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impromptu lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having just arrived in Amsterdam we stopped here for lunch. The food was good quality and reasonably priced, the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The décor is amazing. We chose to sit inside but the outdoor seating is next to the canal with great views.
Would definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Belhamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.