We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went for dinner 4 people, very good service, with an excellent menu and reasonably priced wine list. It has seats in side and out with great views of the canal by one of the bridges and canal meeting points, so it is very busy and lively on the canal.

Price wise whilst not cheap (4 people 321 Euros) it is in my view good valus and we woth another visit, I would suggest that you book though as several people on a Tuesday night were disappointed when they were turned away.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    171
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant view in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Look down the Herengracht which locals deem the most beautiful of Amsterdam's canals. The restaurant is small and crammed. There is outdoor seating next to the confluence of two canals. Service is pleasant. Food is average.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in a beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great art nouveau interior with lovely views to the canal. Terrific food and marvelous wine list. Reserve ahead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good but disappointing table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our hotel, the Renaissance, was supposed to have made a reservation for us at De Belhamel on a busy Saturday night. When we arrived at the designated time, no reservation was to be found. Don’t know who was to blame, but it was embarrassing for us and for the restaurant.

They said they would ‘squeeze’ us in and had us wait in the bar area. Shortly we were seated in the open with the wait staff and customers brushing against us as they passed by and the heat from the kitchen below rising up to make us very uncomfortable. This had been described as a romantic restaurant, we were there for a special occasion, but there wasn’t anything remotely romantic about it.

The staff was very nice, hard working and anxious to please.

I didn’t want a big meal so I ordered two appetizers, white asparagus soup and the sautéed prawns and scallops with puff pastry and beurre blanc sauce. My husband ordered the poached fillet of brill with pommes Dauphine, spinach and choron sauce.

Velvety and flavorful, the soup was divine, perhaps the best I’ve ever had. The flavor of asparagus can be overpowering, but this was delicate and light. The seafood with puff pastry was nice, although the prawns were a little overcooked. The brill (a type of bass) was good as well, nothing really special, but good.

It was cool and damp so the outdoor tables on the canal were unused. Warm from the kitchen’s heat, instead of dessert we ordered two extra glasses of wine and took them outside. The cool evening felt good after the heat in the restaurant. Sitting there at the canal’s edge and sipping wine as the lights on the bridges came to life was enchanting and yes, romantic. It was the best part of the evening.

This is a nice restaurant with a lovely setting at the end of the canal. It is a little on the pricey side but the food was good and the staff pleasant. It was unfortunate about the reservation and our table, I’m sure those lucky enough to have good seats by the window had a much better experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Canal side tables and window seats giving you views up the canal mean you are charged a premium; the food was good and the staff very welcoming but the price reflects the location, not the food as we ate equally good meals for nearly half the price elsewhere in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Belhamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.