We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Behamel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Brouwersgracht 60, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-622-1095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Bend Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“De Behamel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went for lunch on the day we arrived. We had an outdoor table next to the canal. A very atmospheric location. The food and service were very good. We returned on our last night for dinner and had another excellent meal inside. the inside is small but charming. Make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    171
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Romantic setting with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This lovely little restaurant at the head of a canal had an intimate setting and romantic view. I had the watercress soup and my husband had the fish salad. We both had the duck for an entree. All were well prepared and delicious. Make a reservation ahead.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The is a lovely, stylish restaurant with a great menu and though not cheap it is surprisingly good value for the high quality food. We were very lucky to get a table without a reservation on a Wednesday so try to book in if you can!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“sumptuous setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we had dinner here 1 of the nights we were in amsterdam, staying at an apartment a 15 minute walk away. we had made reservations which were needed. our meals were delicious, the service impeccable, and the view from the window of the canal delightful. not had such an experience before, very intimate setting. would go again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

French - Mediterranean cuisine in a cosy but noisy French belle époque bistro in the “Jordaan” at a 10 minutes walk from the central station. As starter we had the sautéed prawn-scallop with puff pastry in beurre blanc and half a lobster with salmon. My main course was a combination of veal sweetbread with veal steak, morel mushroom and French gratin. My companion chosed the Dutch rack of lamb with baked potatoes and pancetta. As dessert we had tarte tatin of pear with a nut caramel and pear ice cream. Good fresh food, well-cooked and well-balanced. The staff was friendly and very helpful, but the timing of service can better. The wine list is very poor. Very good value for money ( 135 euro for two).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Belhamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.