We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the atmosphere -- the food's good, too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen

Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen
Spuistraat 294-302, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
0031-20 530 40 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #422 of 2,544 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $66
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen is situated in 5 17th Century houses. The restaurant is decorated with many antique objects from the 17,18th and 19th Century. You will find amongst others 4 original etchings of Rembrandt, rare Glassware from the 17th Century and original Delft Blue tiles from the 17th and 18th Century. A romantic dinner for 2 in one of our cosy corners is possible, just as a private dining or large (business) dinners
maine
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Come for the atmosphere -- the food's good, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

By far one of the most interesting settings for a meal in all of Amsterdam, this cozy, atmospheric restaurant will make you feel you've stepped back several centuries. Its dark wood interior and old paintings and artifacts made me spend as much time ogling the art as I did paying attention to the food, but that's part of the charm of this establishment. It's a feast for the eyes as well as the mouth.

The evening we went, the set menu featured what was then in season: asparagus. I happen to love asparagus, but anyone who doesn't might find the limited menu off-putting. I loved it, especially the asparagus a la flamande, a traditional Belgian/French dish that's rather simple, but whose execution reaches its heights here.

The service was very attentive and somewhat formal, the wine choices were excellent. Next time I'm in Amsterdam (I travel there about every two years) I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertVeerman, General Manager at Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear mr. Watson,

Many thanks for taking the time letting us know about your experience in our restaurant.

Good to read you enjoyed the asparagus menu and our interior and ambiance.

I work in the Five Flies for about 14 year and still every day I am impressed by our interior too!

Looking forward welcoming you in 2 years again in our restaurant!

Regards from Amsterdam!

Albert Veerman
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    234
    103
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just order the monthly menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have now eaten in this restaurant four times and each time have had an outstanding meal: great and interesting foods, good wines, and outstanding service. I've only been there in small groups (maximum of 4), but each time have had a wonderful experience. Go with the monthly menu--it's the chef's take on currently fresh foods and so far I've not had a dish that was even just so-so--it's expensive, but well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertVeerman, General Manager at Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear mr. Perryl,

Thank you very much for your review and nice words regarding the chefs monthly menu which you enjoyed on your 4th visit.

I will pass your compliments to our chef and kitchen brigade.

Looking forward welcoming you soon for your 5th visit in the Five Flies! :-)

Kind regards from Amsterdam,

Albert Veerman
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not an excellent choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a team dinner in this restaurant. The atmosphere was nice but the food was not excellent. and the service wasn't great. Not a bug deal for it's price.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertVeerman, General Manager at Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear ms. Katia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to writing a review, this is much appreciated.

I am sorry to read that dinner did not meet your expectations, please accept my apologies.

Your feedback is very valuable to us. I will discuss your review in our weekly meeting with the head-chef and the restaurant manager. We will take actions where necessary so our level of food and service will improve.

Kind regards,

Albert Veerman
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food with uneven, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Food and wine were both wonderful albeit on the pricey side. The atmosphere is just charming. The service was too slow but generally attentive - odd combination for sure. I would visit again but only if I had the time for a long meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real authentic building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Suppose to have 2 main courses to be chosen
Yet , the waitress insisted that only spring chicken was offered
The appetiser was very small .
The house wine w as from Chile
The main course was so so
The desert was average
The real authentic building was set up since 1715
Very tight staircase
Food was not good enough

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.