We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and even better rugby game on the big TV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's Outback

Coco's Outback
8-12 Thorbeckeplein, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020 627 2423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,062 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great meal and even better rugby game on the big TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We sourced the net to see if there was an Aussie Bar in Amsterdam as knew they would be screening the big rugby match between NZ and Australia. It was great to find Coco's just a couple of blocks from our hotel and we stopped in for a drink and to make sure the rugby match was going to be on. Staff were friendly and drinks were reasonable.

The following day we returned at midday to watch the rugby, my partner had the big breakfast and said it was delicious, I had a ciabatta roll as was not that hungry but it was very tasty. It was a great atmosphere made all the more enjoyable by the fact that NZ won the rugby! They cater to a lot of sporting codes and have TV screens dotted around the pub inside. There is also outdoor seating.

We enjoyed our visits and would return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    65
    25
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Their own sign says it all. – Stay away - You Have Been Warned!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Like Stefania S Below we thought the “Lousy Food and Warm Beer” was a joke one we had the misfortune to test.

We have just returned from the worst fish and chips I have ever eaten.

I hope that the management reads this and corrects a number of mistakes in their menus and service.

First and foremost calling oil soaked un-eatable unwashed potato cut into chip like shapes “Aussie Chips” does not make them eatable it make you look like a fool.

Secondly how you have managed to get “Beer Batter” to the consistency of a rubber band is unknown however unless your intention is to kill you patrons I would recommend that you stop serving Fish and (Chips)

Lastly and most importantly if an Australian is sitting in your restaurant don’t be surprised when invited to comment on you lousy food they do so. If it is rubbish, we will tell you.

If you serve a dog this food the authorities would shut you down.

Their own sign says it all. – Stay away

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sat outside on warm night having cocktails - prompt, friendly service. We visited during one of their happy hours so had a fantastically cheap cocktail for over 4 euro. Would return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

One of our favourite places to eat in Amsterdam. First of all, the atmosphere inside is great. Never been to an Australian bar but if they are like that then I will definitely be going to more.

The service was friendly and helpful. The drinks were good value, particularly in comparison to surrounding bars and restaurants. The location is good and the interior interesting and welcoming.

Very good and interesting selection of food and drink. Food very tasty and generous portions. Had the kangaroo burger which was different but very tasty, could not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Believe what they say!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The entrance has a board that says: Coco's Outback - Lousy food and Warm Beer. We thought it was a funny joke and decided to try it anyway. in trith, the ad was not correct as it should have also read "poor service". the food was less than average, the waitress forgot to bring drinks , they asked to be paid up front and on top of everything they charge you 50 cents to use the toilette. Amsterdam has much better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco's Outback also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Coco's Outback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco's Outback, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.