We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciel Bleu Restaurant

Ciel Bleu Restaurant
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 (Hotel Okura Amsterdam), Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 678 7111
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $97 - $124
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: One of Amsterdam's most remarkable restaurants, situated on the 23rd floor of Hotel Okura Amsterdam, the Ciel Bleu Restaurant has been awarded two Michelin stars and, much like the adjacent Twenty Third Bar, offers a stunning panoramic view of Amsterdam's city centre. This breathtaking vista and the luxurious design, together with the personal hospitality, all combine to create a unique atmosphere. The Ciel Bleu Restaurant's ambitious kitchen staff serve a unique take on French cuisine, prepared with seasonal products and characterised by its innovation. The Sommelier's professionalism and close cooperation with Executive Chef and Manager Onno Kokmeijer results in a perfect harmony between wine and food. The Ciel Bleu Restaurant also offers three luxurious private areas: the Starlight Room, the Salon Panoramique, and the Chef's Table in the restaurant's kitchen.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just be prepared to spend the money and you will never regret it. Extraordinary food with immaculate service really one of the best restaurants in the world this.
You can't beat the view or the food or the service...Just perfect

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    139
    23
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Likely the best meal in a Restaurant in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My business partner Eric recommended that my wife and I dine here for our 15th anniversary, but we did not have the normally required 3 months in advance reservations.

Eric, being a regular and knowing the owner call to see if they would accept us.

Of course they did and what resulted was pure poetry in food and service.

10 courses perfectly sized and chosen by the chef for us.

We were delighted and amazed with each and every selection that he made.

Absolutely the finest service one could even imagine.

Thank You for a most memorable and fantastic evening.

Best Regards,

Preston and Donna

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Michelin star restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This restaurant is a great place for French style food in Amsterdam, combining friendly service and exceptional 2 stars Michelin food quality with an environment not that fancy or snobbish as happen sometimes in Michelin star restaurants.

My family and I like the place for celebrations and last january we celebrated my husband's birthday there. They started with some amazing "amuse bouche" (small pre-apetizers), which are the main reasons we keep coming back. Those have the element of surprise, either with the way they are presented as well as the combination of flavours and taste. Wine list is quite good and the main dishes never disappoint. To finish a meal they have this huge wonderful trolley for desserts, that they unfold in front of you with an incredible array of options, as well as coffee, with nice small biscuits/chocolates, of course.

It is expensive as other Michelin star restaurants, but all in all it's more of an experience than a meal. Not to miss if you are visiting Amsterdam. It is located in the top floor of Okura Hotel, adding a nice view of the city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The best in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are looking for a Michelin-star experience, this is the place to go.
Try to book in advance because we got the last table available (and I called 8 hours in advance!)
The food creations are amazing and the chef signature dish (King crab with caviar and gold) is the best king crab I tasted!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great food and awesome view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited on October 11th 2013. We got a table with a view - it was awesome!
We had a great experience. We choose a 5 course menu including wine. The atmosphere was very relaxed we really enjoyed.
The only drawback must be that our wine waiter talked a bit fast :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciel Bleu Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ciel Bleu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciel Bleu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.