We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the Netherlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciel Bleu Restaurant

Ciel Bleu Restaurant
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 (Hotel Okura Amsterdam), 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 678 7111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $85 - $110
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of Amsterdam's most remarkable restaurants, situated on the 23rd floor of Hotel Okura Amsterdam, the Ciel Bleu Restaurant has been awarded two Michelin stars and, much like the adjacent Twenty Third Bar, offers a stunning panoramic view of Amsterdam's city centre. This breathtaking vista and the luxurious design, together with the personal hospitality, all combine to create a unique atmosphere. The Ciel Bleu Restaurant's ambitious kitchen staff serve a unique take on French cuisine, prepared with seasonal products and characterised by its innovation. The Sommelier's professionalism and close cooperation with Executive Chef and Manager Onno Kokmeijer results in a perfect harmony between wine and food. The Ciel Bleu Restaurant also offers three luxurious private areas: the Starlight Room, the Salon Panoramique, and the Chef's Table in the restaurant's kitchen.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are looking for a Michelin-star experience, this is the place to go.
Try to book in advance because we got the last table available (and I called 8 hours in advance!)
The food creations are amazing and the chef signature dish (King crab with caviar and gold) is the best king crab I tasted!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    33
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited on October 11th 2013. We got a table with a view - it was awesome!
We had a great experience. We choose a 5 course menu including wine. The atmosphere was very relaxed we really enjoyed.
The only drawback must be that our wine waiter talked a bit fast :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great views but no atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked well in advance, having read so many good reviews on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, we were impressed by the stunning backdrop that was the city of Amsterdam. After a few discussions on the working of the menu, we opted for the 4 course with wine pairing. Although the food was excellent and presentation original (Oreo cookies cone etc) we thought that the service was too fussy, the white gloves being awkwardly put on in front of us and the wait between each course was a bit too long. There was no intimacy and the room had a cold feeling. We ordered a cappuccino and it came with a stunning tray of chocolate and pastries (all you can choose) but that was a steep 18 euros. Buyer beware. So after a bill of 487 euros, the most we ever paid for a restaurant, we came back late but although there was a few things amiss, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dined last night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After 10 minutes of settling in with the excellent service and calming ambience, my verbal comment to my dining partners was, 'an information packed, decision-laden' experience. This is an excellent dining experience and the service was a nice balance of expertise and relaxed humor. I suggest that one has to be in the right frame of mind - that you have to want to be involved in the details of the food and preparation because that is part of the experience. This was a business meal and my dining partners and I were very focused on one another, so this was slightly out of tune with our objectives. I will summarize by saying: this is a great place, but be prepared to give your time and attention to the service and the unfolding story of their very good food. We had fun, drank champagne throughout and the expense report will once again raise eyebrows. But business moved forward. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent and well deserving of 2 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had dinner here in celebration of a birthday, was a bit concerned that it might be stuffy, but it was not at all.
The service and meal were excellent, combined with a breathtaking view. When I indicated that it was my first time sampling Wagyu beef, it was presented to me before cooking, and an explaination of the difference with other meat followed. There was a lovely surprise from the chef for the birthday girl. In summary, would respeat in a heartbeat, truly a memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciel Bleu Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ciel Bleu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciel Bleu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.