We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christophe

Christophe
Leliegracht 46, Amsterdam 1015, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-625-0807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Jean-Joël Bonsens and Ellen Mansfield have owned the Christophe op de Leliegracht restaurant since 1st January 2006. The restaurant has a French-Mediterranean cuisine, with an extensive and fitting wine list. The interior is cosmopolitan, with a separate room for a maximum of 12 people. The menu changes in line with the seasons. There are two set menus in addition to the a la carte menu, respectively priced at ?46 and ?66. The specialities are terrine of duck liver marinated in Jurançon wine and a ragout of sea lobster with cocoa beans.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I took the 4 course meal at Christophe's.
The maître d' was great; kind, knew your needs before you even told them out loud. The sommelier on the other hand was weird... She was rough with the wine, spilled water and wine a few times without apologizing -or seeing it I guess-. I found that rather bizarre, especially because I also saw the attention she gave to other guests and their drinks.
The food was really nice. Even tough our theory about main courses was once again proven, -after great starters the imagination of the chef runs out and serves you a boring main course- the starters and dessert was perfect. The main course with lamb and Harissa gravy was mwah, ok. I took 2 bites and just ate the veggies. The meat was not tender, even though it was lamb. But I totally loved the avocado mousse with cherry tomatoes and langoustine! My dessert with figs was not enough and I wanted one more! Maybe next time we will only have starters and 2 desserts. We will definitely go again. The pro's outweigh the cons.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    30
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dinner started with small basket of Mini Curry carrot brown breads and an amuse bouche of lovely Lobster soup with basil. Both were simply delicious.
The mains that followed were good:
Monk fish with spring pea veloute and mint foam with frise bits
Lamb with tomato and 6 -z diff vegs- brocc, pot,mini zucch
Pre dessert rice pudding with strawberry coulis followed a dessert almond cake with apricots. both dishes were a very rich finale.
Service was exemplary, decor is elegant but not too formal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice people, really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited Christophe on our first night in Amsterdam at the recommendation of the hotel staff. The decor is very stylish and the server and somellier were attentive and informative. The food was very good. Our only issue was the loud party in the middle of the restaurant who spoiled the atmosphere of an otherwise quiet intimate dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I truely enjoyed my dinner here. I believe it is one of my top 5 meals ever. As an entree, I had the filet and sweetbreads, with sauted artichoke hearts and sweet potatoes. The service was attentive, but not cloying. If you plan to go, make a reservation, as I saw them turn many walk-ins away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice but ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

.... not quite right ! Very stylish interior and friendly staff but some of the dishes were disappointing and overall it was expensive in comparison to other up market restaurants in the area. The starters need a bit of work as they were very fancy but hadn't got the flavours quite right. This said the lobster main course was fantastic and really tasty. A good night out but at a price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christophe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christophe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.