We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Thijssen

Cafe Thijssen
Brouwersgracht 107, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
20-623 8994
Improve this listing
Ranked #593 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an excellent cafe which makes you realise that The Dutch do food very well. I had never really known much about Dutch food, but I can tell you having been here a few times - their sandwiches for one are superb. Service is so nice and pleasant. Sitting in the sun with good food, good beer, coffee and pleasant staff and indeed other customers this is a great find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
british Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This cafe is in a great location right on one of the main canals, with a huge patio and good seating inside also. The food and coffee was great and food portions were huge. Its a shame that due to the poor and unfriendly service, I did not return even though i was staying a block away. I sat down for almost 15 min before someone came to take my coffee order. She did not wait half a second for me to voice my choice for a meal. Hence i waited another 10 min until she brought my coffee and felt rushed to give her my order as she looked very irritated. I got up to pay at the bar, as trying to get her attention to bring my bill was not an option. i guess many locals frequent this place and they are used to this kind of service. I feel i wasted an extra 40 min of my time just waiting and trying to catch the waitress's attention.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Full of local Dutch people, could have been great but I had to remind them they'd forgotten my order. It wasn't busy an the order was for a croissant with butter. Friends said their rosaries were fairly average too. Cappuccino was lovely but small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely typically Dutch cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love the location of this cafe we were introduced to it by some Dutch friends. Had soup here twice French onion and tomato both were exceptional. Great service from very friendly staff .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“OK to Grab a Brew...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After hours of walking, we settled at Cafe Thijssesn mainly because it was close to our Hotel in the Jordaan area. We sat outside: small tables with both table and menus needing a good cleaning. Chairs were small and close together, typical cafe style. Service was initially ok, but as time went on we never saw the male server again. We had to go inside to order more to drink, and saw that one poor girl was managing the whole place on her own! My daughter ordered chicken bites and spring rolls; all fried and not very good. Nice quiet neighborhood place to grab a quick drink if you are just relaxing..save your food money for another cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thijssen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Thijssen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Thijssen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.