We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely typically Dutch cafe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Thijssen

Cafe Thijssen
Brouwersgracht 107, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
20-623 8994
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely typically Dutch cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love the location of this cafe we were introduced to it by some Dutch friends. Had soup here twice French onion and tomato both were exceptional. Great service from very friendly staff .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“OK to Grab a Brew...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After hours of walking, we settled at Cafe Thijssesn mainly because it was close to our Hotel in the Jordaan area. We sat outside: small tables with both table and menus needing a good cleaning. Chairs were small and close together, typical cafe style. Service was initially ok, but as time went on we never saw the male server again. We had to go inside to order more to drink, and saw that one poor girl was managing the whole place on her own! My daughter ordered chicken bites and spring rolls; all fried and not very good. Nice quiet neighborhood place to grab a quick drink if you are just relaxing..save your food money for another cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“cracking neighbourhood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, a really nice chilled out eatery/drinkery. A good selection of proper beers ( rather than the awful genero-froths - Amstel, Heineken, Grolsch). Simple food (sandwiches toasties), a decent apple pie. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Typical Dutch bar/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A typical Dutch bar/cafe with outdoor seating right in the middle of a residential road beside one of the main canals. After a long day exploring Amsterdam we finished the day off with drinks and nibbles at this very nice place. We had the warm snacks along with beers and wine. Really nice and good value and no problem just sitting relaxing enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“relaxed place in the Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

great place to have a lunch...good sandwiches at a reasonable price and a great atmosphere...lot's of Dutch newspapers and magazines around to read...good to combine with the nearby markets on saturday and monday (Noordermarket)...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thijssen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Thijssen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Thijssen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.