We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to Grab a Brew...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Thijssen

Cafe Thijssen
Brouwersgracht 107, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
20-623 8994
Improve this listing
Ranked #635 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“OK to Grab a Brew...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After hours of walking, we settled at Cafe Thijssesn mainly because it was close to our Hotel in the Jordaan area. We sat outside: small tables with both table and menus needing a good cleaning. Chairs were small and close together, typical cafe style. Service was initially ok, but as time went on we never saw the male server again. We had to go inside to order more to drink, and saw that one poor girl was managing the whole place on her own! My daughter ordered chicken bites and spring rolls; all fried and not very good. Nice quiet neighborhood place to grab a quick drink if you are just relaxing..save your food money for another cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“cracking neighbourhood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, a really nice chilled out eatery/drinkery. A good selection of proper beers ( rather than the awful genero-froths - Amstel, Heineken, Grolsch). Simple food (sandwiches toasties), a decent apple pie. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Typical Dutch bar/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A typical Dutch bar/cafe with outdoor seating right in the middle of a residential road beside one of the main canals. After a long day exploring Amsterdam we finished the day off with drinks and nibbles at this very nice place. We had the warm snacks along with beers and wine. Really nice and good value and no problem just sitting relaxing enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“relaxed place in the Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

great place to have a lunch...good sandwiches at a reasonable price and a great atmosphere...lot's of Dutch newspapers and magazines around to read...good to combine with the nearby markets on saturday and monday (Noordermarket)...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bright, Airy, Big Inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stopped by mid-morning after a trip through the Westerstraat Markt and a wander around the north end of the Jordaan. My wife and I needed coffee, and we all needed a light snack. Cafe Thijssen is unlike a lot of Amsterdam cafes in that it is spacious inside with plenty of light. The outdoor seating faces much of the day's light, especially early in the day. The food we had doesn't stand out as must-have, but it was a nice stop in a good area, and a good place to refuel if you're at the north Jordaan markets.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thijssen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Thijssen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Thijssen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.