We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Dutch bar/cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Thijssen

Cafe Thijssen
Brouwersgracht 107, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
20-623 8994
Improve this listing
Ranked #635 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Typical Dutch bar/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A typical Dutch bar/cafe with outdoor seating right in the middle of a residential road beside one of the main canals. After a long day exploring Amsterdam we finished the day off with drinks and nibbles at this very nice place. We had the warm snacks along with beers and wine. Really nice and good value and no problem just sitting relaxing enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“relaxed place in the Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

great place to have a lunch...good sandwiches at a reasonable price and a great atmosphere...lot's of Dutch newspapers and magazines around to read...good to combine with the nearby markets on saturday and monday (Noordermarket)...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bright, Airy, Big Inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stopped by mid-morning after a trip through the Westerstraat Markt and a wander around the north end of the Jordaan. My wife and I needed coffee, and we all needed a light snack. Cafe Thijssen is unlike a lot of Amsterdam cafes in that it is spacious inside with plenty of light. The outdoor seating faces much of the day's light, especially early in the day. The food we had doesn't stand out as must-have, but it was a nice stop in a good area, and a good place to refuel if you're at the north Jordaan markets.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful , impromptu dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon it after getting lost looking for a waterfront restaurant in the bitters island. Young waiter said they did not have a full kitchen but he suggested a pumpkin soup. Tracy had a spread platter with wonderful Dutch bread and "mature" cheese. Tried a few local beers and my first jenever drink. Manager and staff were extremely nice. The soup is superb. The bread soft and grainy. The cheese, well the cheese. There is no bad cheese here :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Typical Dutch service, but great soups and sandwiches at a reasonable price. The cafe was toasty and warm on a cold, windy day, and the food was excellent (we tried two soups and the salmon sandwich - all very good). I do have to say, though: if you have picky kids, this is probably not the place for you. We didn't have much luck finding anything on the lunch menu that our kids would willingly eat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thijssen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Thijssen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Thijssen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.