We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beddington's

Beddington's
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 141, 1017 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-620-7393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $42
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Norfolk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to research and book places to eat this time. Too often have we walked in to a city centre restaurant off the street and frankly,wished we hadn't . There's nothing wrong with tourist restaurants; not often much right either!

So after a false start at the right address on the wrong street, we finally arrived at Beddingtons. Offered a choice of table, we went for one with a kitchen view.

This turned out to be a great idea. You see we chose the 'surprise menu,' and had great fun trying to guess which dish the chef was preparing for us.

The surprise menu is excellent as other reviewers have said. You tell them what you don't want and they cook you something else. I had roast beef with pork to start then a lamb burger. Neither would have been my menu choice, but both were excellent. Proof that the system works!

Can I fault the place? Not really, it delivered exactly what I hoped for, a leisurely, delicious dinner in a nice setting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great food, outstanding service. We ordered the chefs surprise which is 3 courses designed by the kitchen. We were not disappointed. Starting with the bread and very fresh butter, each of the courses were outstanding. Although a limited with list, great choices and an excellent local sparkling wine. The waitress was very knowledgable of the menu and had a wonderful personality. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A group of us ate in this restaurant on the recommendation of a colleague and it was fabulous. The kitchen is open for all to see and the chef worked wonders to feed a large group of us with really beautifully cooked and presented food. We were so impressed that we actually gave him a round of applause at the end of the mean (not something we Brits would typically do). The waitress was also very friendly and made us feel that we were valued customers.

I would definitely revisit again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Worth every Euro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Chose the "surprise" menu. Once dietary restrictions were accounted for, chef made us, including child, 3 course meal. Lovely combination of ingredients. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Waitress was lovely & helpful. Even the kitchen helper was friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service- unbelievable value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had read the Guardians review on this restaurant and had decided a few weeks before our trip that we would give it a try. As the trip was our honeymoon we had high expectations. I am always very critical on customer service, and I have to say that Beddingtons have this down to a fine art! We were greeted with a very warm welcome, and offered a choice of seats. We opted for the surprise menu, and we couldn't have been more delighted! The food was some of the best I have ever tasted. This place really feels like something special. Fantastic value for money! We need this in Manchester!!!! Thanks guys :-))

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beddington's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beddington's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beddington's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.