We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Coffee Shop In Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barney's

Barney's
Haarlemmerstraat 102, Amsterdam 1013 EW, The Netherlands
+31 20 625 9761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #405 of 2,223 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favorite Coffee Shop In Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great service! Welcoming Staff! Yummy Food! We went here two days in a row, because it was soo good! I had the salmon pizzette and my boyfriend had a delicious burger! The best part about this place, and the part I will always remember is their amazing mochas! I was like drinking heaven. We had this lovely waitress named Selena, who was super helpful in choosing what to eat and drink. This place is a cozy little corner to warm up and eat some good food! We went to other coffee shops around Amsterdam, but they were not nearly as friendly or delicious as Barneys! We will definitely be back to Barneys on our next visit to Amsterdam!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    52
    34
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barney's Uptown Cafe ROCKS!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

hey, stumbled across barney's while exploring and wanted somewhere to put my feet up for a nice coffee and brunch... the place was bustling with happy groupies and couples, with cool music playing in the background the food was nice and the staff was very friendly.

..came back for dinner on our 2nd night and had a blast since they recognized us from the day before!

however, they did seem a little stretched at times and rushed off their feet trying to serve a packed place (could be made to wait a while - at the door)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Food was great here. I don't smoke myself but my friends are pretty much experts when it comes to green and they were raving about it. Visit Barneys!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Suprisingly unfriendly atmosphere - totally overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was advised by a number of people to try out 'the best coffeeshops Amsterdam had to offer'. Sadly I was underwhelmed by the unfriendly and brusque service offered at Barney's, considering we were the only customers in the entire building - decided to 'take out' on this occasion.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Dope!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the best hash in Amsterdam and great atomisers right on the table....Barney Rubble is uniique - a must try

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.