We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Jewel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel
Singel 235, Amsterdam 1012 WE, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Jewel - in the Amber Apartment - for three days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend in November 2009. It is perfectly situated: located near Dam Square heading toward the Jordaan, right across the Nine Little Streets; about a 10 minute walk from the train station, 15 min walk from the Red Light District, and 15 mins from the museum area. While the apartment is situated in an old canal house (and up several, winding sets of steep stairs!), it is modern, very clean, recently renovated, and has a great setup. We enjoyed the great view from the apartment, which looked out onto the canal and the bridge below, across from other canal apartments, and out toward the Westerkerk Church tower. Jojo, one of the owners, was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions.
Although our stay was short, we loved the city of Amsterdam and highly recommend the Amsterdam Jewel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Amber apartment a few weeks ago and it was a completely enchanted experience. The interior of this very carefully restored 17th century canal house is beautifully done... the perfect mix between historical architectural details and clean, contemporary design. The place is spotless and cosy and of course, there is nothing quite like waking up in a loft bed overlooking the Singel canal. Located right along the edge of the lovely 9 Streets district, with its beautiful cafés and curious boutiques, the location is ideal- just around the corner from Dam Square (and Central Station) yet perfectly away from the crowds. Bicycles (rental place next door) and croquettes (great cafe on the corner) are close at hand. We were totally well taken care of by Marten and Jojo, the owners of the canal house. They were exceptionally kind and helpful. I have travelled to Amsterdam before on business and the hotel experience really cannot compare. With these apartments (and also their vintage-style dinner cruise- very great) Martin and Jojo have created something totally unique to the city. We will absolutely be coming back, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed in the Pearl Apartment and it was absolutely perfect. It is a clean, modern, well-equiped apartment in a safe and convenient neighborhood within walking distance of, well, everything! Marten and Jojo were great hosts, available to help us with any needs or recommendations. We will stay here every time we come to Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

The location of this place is ideal. About a ten minute walk from central station. The room is impeccable, we stayed on the second floor and we had great night sleeps all three nights we stayed. The room has a nice modern feel to it, which I really like. Marten and JoJo did all they could to make our welcome as easy as possible. The stairs are a little steep as previously mentioned but easy to get used to, may be tough for someone who is older and has trouble climbing stairs. There is a grocery store about two minutes away, also on the same street as Jewel, think it is Sengal st. there is a great lunch spot Broodie something, great little deli with fresh baked apple pie. The red light district is about a 8-12 minute walk. We also walked to the Van Gogh Musuem and Heinekin Brewery from Jewel, the walks were not bad don't know exactly how long maybe 15-25 minutes. Amsterdam is a cool place, I had a little apprenhension with the mystique of the "coffe shops" and the red light, but I felt safe at all times in Amsterdam. This apt./hotel is a great place to call home while in Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Our 15 day stay in March/April was fantastic. The owners Marten and Jo Jo were delightful and absolutely helpful in every way. The apartment was cozy, romantic and so close to everything you can think of. Central and on the canal, it was all just so picturesque and the place was all abuzz. The stay was made all that more comfortable with the cleanliness and the cooking facilities. There is a supermarket just around the corner as is the post office and main shopping areas. A few steps from the main Dam Square and all the other attractions. The location was just so great. Trams running in all directions if you wanted to wander out further and also bike hire just next door. The train is also close by as we walked from and to the central train station when we arrived and left. If we ever return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay again.

Grant and Dina (Australia)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We spent our honeymoon in the top apartment, and it was amazing! The hosts are fantastic, you feel like its your own private home. The stairs are a little steep, but you get used to it. You are centrally located in a safe corner, and you can walk to the market for food. Lots of great shops and resturants within walking distance. There is a bike rental place right behind the appartment. There are also plenty of "Coffee" shops around. I have never had a better vacation. We have even discussed moving to Holland because our experience was so life changing. Stop looking for other places to stay. Book this loft. It has everything you need and more.

  • Liked — The kitchen was awesome!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

My husband and I had our honeymoon here. I've been to Amsterdam On a number of occasions and love to be in the heart of the enviroment...... This was the most amazing stay I've had, we had all the privacy we needed, but only had to knock on the door and anything we needed was sorted for us. The accomadation was imaculate, warm and cosy and the view from the apartment, was like looking at a row of dutch dolls houses, you couldn't experience Amsterdam any other way.

I can't tell you enough how luxurious the accomadation is for the price. The bed doesn't look very special in the website photo's, but we named it the bed of clouds...it's like floating on air due to the spring base built into a frame. We intend to have every aniversary we can here........so don't think about booking the 16th January !!!!!!

Sophie and Matthew Fleming
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Address: Singel 235, Amsterdam 1012 WE, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.