We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an apartment in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam Jewel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Jewel
Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A gem of an apartment in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013 and absolutely fell in love with it. The apartment overlooked Singel canal, was very clean and quiet and nicely furnished with a Nespresso 'bar' to complete it. Marten and Jojo were attentive when I needed their advice/help, and left me to it when I didn't - perfect hosts! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed at The Amsterdam Jewel Apartments quite a few times. It's one of our "home away from home" getaways. Always a pleasure to return to the most gracious hosts anyone could ask for - Jojo and Marten. Amsterdam Jewel Apartments are beautifully designed studios (we've stayed in a few) in a great location. We love returning and have recommended this "jewel" to many friends and associates. BTW The Amsterdam Jewel also has a fabulous canal boat dinner cruise... but that's another fab review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just got back from 3 days staying in the Ruby Apartment and was 100% pleased with the accomodation. It was well presented and very clean and tidy. Its a great location for Amsterdam Virgins as is central to everything. We walked everywhere, i have the blisters to prove it. On our next trip to this wonderful city we shall be booking the same apartment.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in the Amber apartment for a long weekend in October. It was a wonderful stay. The apartment was, as others have said, well located, close to Dam Square and most of the attractions and shops (a few supermarkets within a few hundred meters). Just across the Single Canal and you are in the “Nine Streets” with many art, craft and vintage shops and many superb restaurants. A little further on (four canals) you have the Jordaan area (more of the same).
The apartment was spotless, had everything needed, a small but very well equipped kitchen (used for breakfasts and a few drinks in the evening), excellent bathroom (wet room), very comfortable lounge area and extremely large and comfortable bed. The room was cleaned, with bedclothes, towels etc refreshed after two days which was pleasantly unexpected.
The view overlooking the Single canal was incredible - the whole front wall was windows – great for watching the world go by and people watching.
The stairs are typical of Amsterdam canal houses – narrow and steep (this is clearly stated in the web-site) – but are manageable just need getting used to.
The staff was very relaxed and extremely helpful.
Will stay here the next time we visit Amsterdam if possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Felt like we had the right experience staying in this type of place for an Amsterdam trip.
This was the first stop of 3 countries on our honeymoon - and we only booked everything two months ahead and were facing very high hotel costs, which lead us to look at this 'apartment' style for our reservation. The location is perfect- we walked with our luggage from the train station and basically felt it was central to everything. The room was clean, simple (nothing fancy) and big- we didn't take advantage of the kitchen but it included pots and pans, should we have wanted.
The one warning-which we read in the reviews prior- is the stair case to get to the third floor. It is extremely steep and narrow - a bit tougher for my husband who is 6'3" but was something we were willing to put up with, given the location & price (182 euro per night, early October weekday).

Room Tip: Stayed in the 3rd floor Pearl Apt- steep stairs to walk up but the canal view and huge open windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I decided to book an apartment over a hotel due to the location which is approximately 200m from the Dam Square, so there was no need for additional tram fares to get into the centre, which people should factor in when pricing places to stay.

The price was competitive and the quality of the room was high. We stayed in the Pearl apartment which is on the second floor. It is minimally but tastefully decorated, with a kitchen, dishwasher, coffee machine, fridge and en-suite bathroom and shower. There is a fairly large supermarket about 100m away. You may find that buying food there saves money as a restaurant meal will be at least 20-25 euro per person. Bear in mind though that you would need to buy cooking oil etc. although there is a collection of condiments left by previous guests in the cupboard.

When we visited, the weather, from what we understood, was unusually warm and sunny. The room does not have air conditioning, but we didn't find the need to use the room's table fan. There are three large wooden-framed windows that open vertically.The curtains are fairly thick and lined and so stop the majority of light but there is some light bleed in the room.

Sleep quality was good, the bed is pretty comfortable, I'm not sure of the size but it was larger than a double. I'm a very light sleeper, who lives in the countryside so I expected it to be difficult to sleep in the middle of the city. In fact it was relatively quiet, mid-week visitors would have no issues in my opinion. On the weekend the noise comes in bursts and really it's those horrible scooters that woke me at 1am and 3am.

The staff were friendly and live in the 1st floor apartment if anything is required.

This would be top of my list as a place to stay were I in Amsterdam again.

__________________________________________________________________
For those interested:

Some general points that I discovered after my first visit - bike rental is highly recommended from a vendor that will give a multi-day deal (we found it annoying to have to return our bikes before 10am, with no opportunity to rent again the next day). The circular nature of the canal structure means that even inexperienced cyclists can get around without much difficulty. Cars and pedestrians are fairly cautious around cyclists unlike most cities. This recommendation may be coloured by the fact that the weather on our stay was gorgeous, I've been told that it is more likely to be overcast and slightly humid.

If you are planning a weekend trip note that on Sundays most shops other than bakeries will not open until midday. We booked a mid-afternoon flight and sadly didn't get much shopping done (well not sadly for my poor wallet).

As a couple we were spending around 100-150 euros per day and we weren't spending time and money in pubs and coffee shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in, "The Emerald" for a week in May. The location is excellent, the host very friendly and helpful and the apartment clean and modern. The train station is a short walk and access to canal boats and trams is nearby. The grocery store a couple blocks away is large and offers a good selection. We loved being situated right alongside the canal. Being able to just run downstairs and do laundry was a big plus. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone. Why stay in a boring hotel room you can find anywhere in the world when you have the opportunity to stay somewhere special!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.