We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a first time Amsterdam Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amsterdam Jewel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Jewel
Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for a first time Amsterdam Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Felt like we had the right experience staying in this type of place for an Amsterdam trip.
This was the first stop of 3 countries on our honeymoon - and we only booked everything two months ahead and were facing very high hotel costs, which lead us to look at this 'apartment' style for our reservation. The location is perfect- we walked with our luggage from the train station and basically felt it was central to everything. The room was clean, simple (nothing fancy) and big- we didn't take advantage of the kitchen but it included pots and pans, should we have wanted.
The one warning-which we read in the reviews prior- is the stair case to get to the third floor. It is extremely steep and narrow - a bit tougher for my husband who is 6'3" but was something we were willing to put up with, given the location & price (182 euro per night, early October weekday).

Room Tip: Stayed in the 3rd floor Pearl Apt- steep stairs to walk up but the canal view and huge open windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I decided to book an apartment over a hotel due to the location which is approximately 200m from the Dam Square, so there was no need for additional tram fares to get into the centre, which people should factor in when pricing places to stay.

The price was competitive and the quality of the room was high. We stayed in the Pearl apartment which is on the second floor. It is minimally but tastefully decorated, with a kitchen, dishwasher, coffee machine, fridge and en-suite bathroom and shower. There is a fairly large supermarket about 100m away. You may find that buying food there saves money as a restaurant meal will be at least 20-25 euro per person. Bear in mind though that you would need to buy cooking oil etc. although there is a collection of condiments left by previous guests in the cupboard.

When we visited, the weather, from what we understood, was unusually warm and sunny. The room does not have air conditioning, but we didn't find the need to use the room's table fan. There are three large wooden-framed windows that open vertically.The curtains are fairly thick and lined and so stop the majority of light but there is some light bleed in the room.

Sleep quality was good, the bed is pretty comfortable, I'm not sure of the size but it was larger than a double. I'm a very light sleeper, who lives in the countryside so I expected it to be difficult to sleep in the middle of the city. In fact it was relatively quiet, mid-week visitors would have no issues in my opinion. On the weekend the noise comes in bursts and really it's those horrible scooters that woke me at 1am and 3am.

The staff were friendly and live in the 1st floor apartment if anything is required.

This would be top of my list as a place to stay were I in Amsterdam again.

__________________________________________________________________
For those interested:

Some general points that I discovered after my first visit - bike rental is highly recommended from a vendor that will give a multi-day deal (we found it annoying to have to return our bikes before 10am, with no opportunity to rent again the next day). The circular nature of the canal structure means that even inexperienced cyclists can get around without much difficulty. Cars and pedestrians are fairly cautious around cyclists unlike most cities. This recommendation may be coloured by the fact that the weather on our stay was gorgeous, I've been told that it is more likely to be overcast and slightly humid.

If you are planning a weekend trip note that on Sundays most shops other than bakeries will not open until midday. We booked a mid-afternoon flight and sadly didn't get much shopping done (well not sadly for my poor wallet).

As a couple we were spending around 100-150 euros per day and we weren't spending time and money in pubs and coffee shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in, "The Emerald" for a week in May. The location is excellent, the host very friendly and helpful and the apartment clean and modern. The train station is a short walk and access to canal boats and trams is nearby. The grocery store a couple blocks away is large and offers a good selection. We loved being situated right alongside the canal. Being able to just run downstairs and do laundry was a big plus. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone. Why stay in a boring hotel room you can find anywhere in the world when you have the opportunity to stay somewhere special!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent place to stay-much better than a hotel! We stayed in the Apartment which was lovely and over looked the canal.. Perfect for people spotting! The apartment was well equipt with kitchen items (not that we cooked) but perfect for a drink and breakfast.

One point to note, the stairs are very very steep up to the apartment..If you have a problem with stairs this apartments wouldn't be for you.. (And there are also stairs upto the bed mezzanine!)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Emerald apartment which is on the 5th floor of the building. The apartment was spacious, clean and being on Singel it was close to everything! 5 minutes from Dam square, 2 minutes to the heart of the Jordaan area and only a 10-15 minute cycle from the Vondelpark. We loved the apartment overall, with the only negative being that being on the 5th floor with no lift access, getting your luggage up and down the steep staircase can be quite the feet of endurance. Still, considering the amount we ate in the various nice restaurants close by, it's probably exactly what our bodies needed...

Overall, I'd certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in Pearl, one of four Jewel Apartments on the Singel Canal in Amsterdam. Typical narrow Dutch staircase, but on our fourth visit to our favorite city, we just think of it as part of the overall charm. Our two hosts, who also own and run the Jewel Cruises, were so helpful and such nice people that they were also part of the overall charm. The Pearl apartment overlooks their antique cruise boat so it was fun to watch the sailing preparation and closing up procedures from the comfort of our apartment. The Pearl is just big enough for two, everything modern and set up to wisely use every inch of space so that while not large, it never felt cramped. Loved the pocket door on the shower room, so smart, so efficient. It's also a very convenient location, close to Dam Square but not so close that it was ever noisy, and it's located next to a cross street so it was fun to watch the bike and foot traffic from all directions. Would definitely recommend staying there if you're looking for a smart, reasonable, convenient apartment for two.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This apartment was legit. I would recommend staying in apartment amber on the top floor. Its a loft so the ceilings are about 20 ft high and the wall is all windows. Great view outside to the canal and cafe below. Added bonus was the low hanging bridge on the canal.. Fun to watch people party on their boats and secretly hope they dont duck in time. The apartment is walking distance to everything. Marten and JoJo were great hosts. If you went to Amsterdam and did not stay here, you screwed up

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.