We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam Jewel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Jewel
Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Igualada, Spain
1 review
“An unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

An unforgettable stay.
In mid-August we spent six days in Amsterdam and we stayed at the Pearl apartment.
We'll remember this trip as one of the most fun and enjoyable we've lived, and definitely staying in Pearl has a lot to do with this.
We can only define Pearl with good adjectives.
Comfortable, very clean, spacious, quiet, perfectly equipped. Perfect location, just between the hustle and bustle of Dam Plein and the calm and peace of Jordaan. Lovely views, especially at night. Excellent hosts, completely helpful and discreet at once.
We felt as a part of the city for a few days.
It has certainly exceeded our expectations, which were already high.
100% recommendable. Albert & Mari
Thanks Martin and Jojo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beautiful building offering so much for the traveller.Everything on tap a real joy and highly recommended.Spotlessly clean and warm we shall stay here agin hopefully very soon.Amsterdam is a very cosmopolitan city and this is a great base.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We loved our stay in this fully furnished apartment. We stayed for 4 nights in the Amber room. The apartment overlooks the Singel canal and has a loft style bedroom. The apartment was spacious and the bathroom was modern and clean. Free WiFi was provided in the apartment and the kitchen came equipped with basic cooking needs (oil, salt etc.). Marten was very nice and even assisted us in carrying our bags up the very steep, narrow stairs. Great location, we walked everywhere and it took us 20 minutes with suitcases to walk from the main train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We totally enjoyed our 3rd floor spacious studio apartment overlooking the canal as the sun streamed in through the enormous windows each afternoon.Everything you need has been thought of and Marten the owner is very helpful and unobtrusive.The place is warm, the cleaning lady attentive and location perfect.Two minutes to supermarket and The Dam, there is a great little cafe next door or book a canal dinner cruise with Marten. Flower and flea markets and numerous cafes and restaurants all within walking distance, just watch out for the bicyclists! Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have just spent 3 nights at Amsterdam Jewel in Pearl apartment, very cosy and a great location. Lovely setting and close to everything you need. Supermarket just behind for all your needs but generous supply of coffee by the hosts, which is much needed as you arrive!. I have visited Amsterdam before but have always been in a hotel, this is much nicer as you can relax looking out of the window whenever you please and dont feel like you are stuck in a hotel room, although this is not much bigger, it is great to be able to do your own bit of breakfast and even supper if you dont wish to go out. Looking forward to coming again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Best people, perfect location and great service. Thank you guys we will come back for sure. We spend 4 days and combined both leisure and buisiness. That was the best accomondation in any sense even the steep stairs...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Amber was a wonderful place for our recent stay in Amsterdam. It has a great location with a beautiful view of the canal. Although it is small for an apartment, the room is larger than a hotel room and offers the amenities of a suite. Plus, the cost is about equivalent to a hotel room, but without the hassle of other loud guests, paying for WiFi, etc. It is truly like you are at home on vacation. Management is very nice and non-intrusive. A word of caution for those with mobility issues: the stairs are very steep. You will be out of breath after climbing them... and carrying the suitcases up and down them is not for the faint of heart.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.